DEV Community

MateusSousa00
MateusSousa00

Posted on

What would I say to my past self 2 years ago?

Easy Answer:

Buy Crypto.

Thank you all, see you next time!

Just kidding (or not), but let me introduce myself... I'm a Fullstack Developer, I work mainly with JS/TS, but I've ventured into PHP, Java, Kotlin, and Go... all within two years.

I've learned a lot during this time, but the funny thing is, the most valuable lessons I learned were more related to soft skills, communication, and people management. Weird, right?

So, you probably came here imagining that I would share some knowledge about what to learn first, roadmaps, or how to get the first job. These things are valuable, but they are easy to find. That's why I want to introduce you to the first topic of this discussion:

Learn How to Search

As a beginner, you will probably struggle a lot when searching for things on the internet to help you with the tasks you are facing right now.

You might be wondering, "But this is easy, I just need to use ChatGPT, and my problem is solved." You're partially correct, but if you don't know how to search effectively, you will probably be in trouble soon.

I don't want to be a moralist and say that you shouldn't use it, but if you do, use it correctly. Understand the question, the task, and the logic you need to overcome the situation. Be a good searcher; every good developer is.

Because if you ask the AI for the solution to your problem, it may provide one, but would it be the best solution? Would it be a solution that doesn't put your project at risk of security or performance issues?

Think about it.

This advice isn't valuable only for developers. For example, if you want a job, don't just Google "remote job"; this is too vague. Always focus on your needs. For me, as a Fullstack developer who knows many languages, I'd do searches like:

"Fullstack developer with Spring Kotlin and Vue.js remote"
"Backend developer with NestJS and GraphQL remote"

I could do lots of variations of this, but this is way better than "remote job."

Appear, Lose Your Shyness

Here in Brazil, we have a popular quote that is:

Quem não é visto, não é lembrado

This means if they don't see you, they will never remember you. Hard, isn't it?

The thing is, you could be one of the best developers in the world, but if no one knows who you are, honestly? It's not valuable.

Talk to other developers, recruiters, POs, PMs. You don't have to be straightforward with "Do you have a job?" Share things that could add value to their lives, like a post you read on LinkedIn or dev.to (from me, of course), or a video about a new trend in IT.

I remember when a friend of mine introduced me to BUN. We discussed it, and it was a nice conversation. I really appreciated it.

Also, remember always: be nice, be gentle.

Create meaningful connections that you desire to bring into your life. New job positions, companies, and networks will always appear (as long as people remember you).

Learn Wisely

This is tricky, right? Let me be straightforward: what do you want to be? A developer? A PO? Understand the role you want. If you don't know yet, it's time to learn what these roles do in a company or a job.

When you discover what you want to be, create a roadmap based on what makes a good developer, a good Product Owner... Remember that thing I told you earlier? Learn how to search.

This is probably the most valuable advice you'll have today, again: Learn how to search.

For example, if you want to be a good developer, you don't have to learn too many languages at once. Master one first, then discover other languages.

TL;DR

  • Buy crypto (not even kidding);
  • Learn how to search and use AI as your copilot;
  • Appear, lose shyness, make yourself visible in a good way;
  • Learn wisely; a good learner knows which steps to take;

I think this is a good start for a post, right? I'll probably write more focused on one or two topics mentioned here, but that's it for today.

See you soon!

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
gustavogomes profile image
Gustavo Gomes

Amazing! ❤️