DEV Community

mcwhopper63
mcwhopper63

Posted on

this is for anyone in their later 30s, wanting to get into coding

Subscribe to my page if you want to become a programmer as an older individual.

I'm turning 38 later this year.

It's April 2023, and the goals are still the same: to get a job as a self-taught programmer and start a freelancing business.

Where am I now? I created a CRUD app aka a "todo-list app" that works on the web. Impressive? Yes, it is :)

Here's a timeline of events.

2017: For 2months, I attempted App Academy's problem sets that I cannot find any longer. They're similar to that of 8kyu to 7kyu problems on Codewars. I lost interest and quit programming.

The coding itch was never addressed!

2021: I applied to App Academy's full time program. I got in after 3months of studying. But, I couldn't continue with the bootcamp due to personal reasons.

November 2022: I started #100Devs free and online bootcamp. It's been great so far!

I'm going to list my roadmap and strategy here so stay tuned!

Top comments (3)

Collapse
 
theoryofmars profile image
Marc McCarthy

Stumbled across this. Want any help? I am in my early 20's and successfully made the leap. Now I do software and I coach on the side for a bootcamp.

Collapse
 
mcwhopper63 profile image
mcwhopper63

ima stick to my roadmap but will reach out to you, should i need the extra boost. thanks!

Collapse
 
theoryofmars profile image
Marc McCarthy • Edited

Great! One correction though, I am in my early 30's (almost 34). I had a typo. So your post was exactly what I did after 10 years in another field. I now have two positions in Software Development.