DEV Community

merlumina
merlumina

Posted on

Why I Decided to Become a Software Developer

My Background

I have been interested in computers and coding since I was very young, probably 8 or 9 years old. My earliest memories of coding are reading through my parents’ HTML For Dummies book and building a personal GeoCities page (filled with tons of context-less GIFs I had downloaded from random other sites) using Homesite 3. This was the late 90’s so still early internet days – I’m sure “90’s web design” triggers a very specific mental image, and yeah, it was just like that. I also made a few websites for some Sailor Moon and other anime forum communities I participated in, and of course, I made personal NeoPets pages as well.

At some point, my answer to “what do you want to be when you grow up?” was Computer Programmer – specifically, I wanted to make computer games. How I came to that idea, I honestly don’t remember. That said, growing up I wasn’t really exposed to much computer science, so I didn’t end up learning much about it (aside from the HTML dabbling). It wasn’t until I got to college that I was able to take my very first programming class – Intro to Programming with Java. I was SO excited to finally learn to code, but I ended up struggling a lot in the class. I found the basic concepts and syntax fairly straightforward, but had a hard time with some of the higher abstraction needed for projects where we had to write our own code. Most frustratingly, my TAs would only re-explain the basic concepts when I asked questions, so I didn’t get the help I really needed. I ended up getting my first ever C grade in that class, and I left it thinking I might just be “too stupid” to learn to program.

Looking For A Change

I graduated college with a degree in Linguistics and a realization that I didn’t have any qualifications for jobs that I actually wanted to do. This left me with insecurities that I struggled with for years. Eventually, though, I did manage to work my way towards a job that I could see myself being in for a while. I graduated college working at a coffee shop, then worked at a bead/jewelry store, and lastly found myself at a company that does print on demand custom fabric (where I have been for the last 5 years). It was here, where I worked in the operations department doing printing, packaging, and shipping, that I was reintroduced to the idea of pursuing programming. The company would, semi-regularly, allow employees to do internships with the engineering department which often lead to sponsoring enrollment at a local bootcamp. After completion, you would come back and join the engineering department. Being a college graduate, living on her own, and working full time for a low wage, this sounded like my best bet for getting the additional education I wanted, so it became a dream of mine to one day qualify for the internship. Unfortunately, due to some financial hardships at the company and later a poorly-timed job interview right before a new round of internships, I never got the opportunity to pursue that.

Fast forward to March 2020. I have been working in Product Development at this company for over a year, having upgraded from Customer Service (and before that, factory work). I enjoy my job fairly well, particularly some of the number crunching and spreadsheet formula building I get to do. On a Friday morning, two days after work-from-home COVID-19 lockdown was instated, and on the day of my 5 year anniversary with the company, I had my yearly review with my manager only to find I was being reassigned to my old factory job and taking a 25% pay cut. This was (and in many ways still is) one of the most devastating days of my life. It felt like everything I had been working towards over the past five years, the skills I had learned, the confidence I had gained through therapy but also encouragement from coworkers and managers had all just been burned down and thrown away. I was devastated, because I felt like I had finally “made it” to something that was comfortable for me, but now I was back to square one and not cut out for anything.

A Turning Point

It has taken months for me to heal from that experience, and it continues to be a challenge for me, particularly due to some major expenses that also hit me early on in the year. While I spent all this time feeling sorry for myself, I also never stopped thinking about improving myself and how I could move forward. I started to seriously consider pursuing coding again. I dove deep into some Web Development courses on LinkedIn Learning, but I had trouble finding a good rhythm and sticking with it (I have so many hobbies…but I plan to go back to them!). I also began my first foray into game development, making two micro games for game jams on itch.io – one with Game Maker Studio 2 and the other with Ren’Py. Somewhere down the line, I saw an ad for Career Karma, which promised to prepare you for the process of applying and getting into a coding bootcamp. This intrigued me, but as soon as I signed up I realized they were offering a little more handholding than I really needed. It did reintroduce the idea of bootcamps to me, and I realized that there were SO many more options than there were 5 years ago, when all they really had were full time immersive classes. Now there was part time, self paced, PLUS different financing options like ISAs. Once I realized that I could do a bootcamp while still working and not taking on massive debt, I began seriously considering doing it. And by seriously considering, I mean I thought about it for roughly two days before applying outright to Flatiron School. I did almost all the bootcamp prep work before my admissions meeting and LOVED it. I discussed all the program and financing options with my admissions counselor, and in the end decided that it was now or never! I was going to do this!

A Bright Future

I could not be more excited to embark on this journey with my Flatiron School cohort. I have spent too long dreaming of doing this but hesitating due to fear of not being good enough, but no longer! I love technology, I love problem solving, and I love bringing ideas to life by putting together the right pieces of information. I know this is going to be a great path for me, and I’m looking forward to working hard and learning a lot over the course of the next 10 months.

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
meshamakes profile image
Mesha

Aye best wishes my friend, everything will become clearer in due time just takes a little practice. I wish you the best and that everything will go smoothly for you, Happy New Year when it comes around :)