DEV Community

Cover image for How to learn?
Mike
Mike

Posted on

How to learn?

Hello fellow devs!

I am relatively new to the dev world and find myself to be a slow learner. The only thing keeping me committed and growing (despite my snail-like pace) is my love for web-dev and design and the small breakthroughs I experience from time to time (and possibly sheer stubbornness).

That being said I am trying to compile a small go-to article for the best ways to learn. I know they vary from person to person but I'm interested in hearing all the ways other people learn new languages and concepts.

How do YOU learn? Do you have a system? Do you dive right in? do you read a lot first? Start with crash courses?

Let me know with a comment or message!

Top comments (7)

Collapse
 
habereder profile image
Raphael Habereder

My method of learning is very practical. I "just do it".
Somehow I don't retain a lot of knowledge by reading, I have to use it in practice for it "to stick".

It's always been very weird in highly-theoretical topics like, for example, geometry. It's not something you need a lot, at least I don't. Reading the formulas and repeating them over and over in my head did nothing for me in school. Until I used those very formulas to solve problems. Then it somehow stuck.

It's the same with, for example, a JavaScript framework. Reading about it doesn't help me at all, until I install it and make a few apps, even if they are totally brainless, without any real function.

I guess my brain has some sort of garbage collector that cleans up stuff I don't use frequently :D

Collapse
 
mevko4 profile image
Mike

Thanks this is very helpful! I find I'm the same way although I think my brains garbage collector is a little bit of an over achiever

Collapse
 
remshams profile image
Mathias Remshardt

My approach is usually, in case it is a completely new topic, to start with reading to get the basic (kind of "how things are done here").

But then it is the same for me as well: Reading only gets me so far, if I want it to stick I either have to do it myself or explain it to someone.

What also gives me a lot of new insights is reading other code from real applications/libraries (not just tutorial code). Open Source is great for this.

Collapse
 
wizlee profile image
Wiz Lee

As others have pointed out, learn by working on a project is the best. Would like to share this great youtube video by Web Dev Simplified if you decided go for it. All the best! =)

Collapse
 
alohe profile image
Alohe

Build projects and google everything. when you do it enough times you'll stop googling it and you'll just know it.

That's my experience at least as a self-thought full stack developer

also once you learn a language like Python or Javascript you can basically read or at least understand basic concept's of other programming languages vary easily

Collapse
 
lepinekong profile image
lepinekong

As I said here dev.to/lepinekong/figma-plugin-api... I've been very busy building a tool and it's this very purpose : help slow learners but even when you're a professional you have a lot to learn so actually eveybody is on the same boat as you.

I don't have time to explain yet because it's very big but hold on I'll write an article on dev.to as soon as possible on that problem and solutions I propose ;)

Collapse
 
mevko4 profile image
Mike

Looking forward to this! I'll keep an eye out for that article