DEV Community

Michael Lee πŸ•
Michael Lee πŸ•

Posted on

Ain't Easy

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
andy profile image
Andy Zhao (he/him)

My girlfriend and I were looking at one of her knitting books, and there were a bunch of sweaters. We were casually looking at them, and then she told me how there's this old wive's tale about if you knit a sweater for your partner, then you two are bound to break up. She then said that it's kind of true because unless one is a knitter, no one ever appreciates how much time, work, and effort it requires to hand knit a sweater.

Anyway, your article reminded me of this conversation, and that it's really important to appreciate the work of others, even if you don't understand it.

P.S. She has not knit me a sweater. πŸ™

Collapse
 
michael profile image
Michael Lee πŸ•

Hey Andy! Thanks for taking the time to read my article and sharing your story. Glad she hasn't knitted you a sweater. And if she does, I'm sure you'll appreciate the work that goes into it :)

I think it's easy to forget that a lot of the things we use actually has a human story behind it. Sometimes need to take a moment to step back and realize this.