DEV Community

Michael Tharrington for The DEV Team

Posted on • Updated on

What was your win this week?

Howdy! 🤠

Hope everybody had a wonderful week and that y'all all enjoy your weekends. 😀

Looking back on this past week, what was something you were proud of accomplishing?

All wins count — big or small 🎉

Examples of 'wins' include:

  • Starting a new project
  • Fixing a tricky bug
  • Celebrating a birthday 🎂

A child excitedly blowing out candles on their birthday cake

Top comments (38)

Collapse
 
integerman profile image
Matt Eland

I got accepted to KCDC and had some of my first interactions with Microsoft as a brand new MVP. Also, I got a ton of stickers in the mail from Dev.to!

Dev.to Stickers

Collapse
 
codenameone profile image
Shai Almog

Got those stickers too. Kids grabbed them all ;-)

Collapse
 
integerman profile image
Matt Eland

They were huge!

Collapse
 
dgohel11 profile image
Dharmang Gohel

How did you get? I also want

Thread Thread
 
codenameone profile image
Shai Almog

Posted a lot. Got good traction for articles and was contacted by the team.

But I guess you can just ask anyone on the dev.to team.

Thread Thread
 
integerman profile image
Matt Eland

The sticker pack is also available in the forum shop if you're curious!

Thread Thread
 
codenameone profile image
Shai Almog

That's cool. Seems to include some things that my pack didn't include.

Collapse
 
chrisgreening profile image
Chris Greening

Launched and made huge progress on an open source Python project I'm really hyped about! It's been a long time since I've coded for fun so I'm really excited to be going all in on this project

Basically it abstracts out all the math and code for building really beautiful geometric animations/tracings such as these in just a few lines of very readable code:

Animation of a circle rolling around the inside of a larger circle and drawing a geometrically symmetrical shape

Animation of a circle rolling around the inside of a larger circle and drawing loops

The project's only been live for a few days so I've got a long ways to go but I have soooo many ideas that I'll be building over the next weeks/months

GitHub logo chris-greening / spyrograph

Python library for drawing hypotrochoids and epitrochoids in just a few lines of code

spyrograph: elegant mathematics and geometries

Sample hypotrochoid drawing showing a circle rolling around the interior of another circle drawing a geometric shape

What is it?

spyrograph is a lightweight Python package that provides an expressive and flexible set of tools for drawing beautiful mathematically driven art. With just a few lines of easy-to-read code you can start analyzing, visualizing, and exploring elegant mathematics

Downloads Issues License Version

"Buy Me A Coffee"

Official website

Official docs

Key Features

  • Expressive and consistent syntax
  • Robust underlying mathematics
  • Beginner and expert friendly
  • No third-party installations required
  • Clear visualizations and animations
  • Flexible to a wide range of usecases
  • Lightweight, just plug and play

Table of Contents


💻 Installation

pip

Install from PyPI using

$ pip3 install spyrograph
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

or clone from GitHub

$ git clone https://github.com/chris-greening/spyrograph.git
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

🙏 Contributing

All contributions, bug reports, bug fixes, documentation improvements, enhancements, and ideas are welcome!

Feel free to open an Issue, check out existing Issues, or start a discussion.

Beginners to open source are highly encouraged…




Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Awww yeah! This looks so dope, Chris. I'm wondering... could this be used to make a visualizer for music?

Collapse
 
chrisgreening profile image
Chris Greening • Edited

Ahhh thank you thank you!!

fr great minds think alike that's one of my plans as a proof-of-concept project for it - I'm kicking around ideas on an interactive math-based synth visualizer and/or generator web experience (although I'd prob want to port the library into JavaScript for that.. future project 😅)

I did a quick experiment where I incremented the input parameters, saved the resulting plot, and then stitched the results all together into this GIF:

Image description

Visually it's super reminiscent of running synth through an oscilloscope which got me thinking about tying this into some music stuff, really optimistic about what I can do with this library as I keep building on it

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

Off for the week enjoying some snowboarding!

Collapse
 
thomasbnt profile image
Thomas Bnt ☕

👏🏼👏🏼

Collapse
 
corners2wall profile image
Corners 2 Wall

Ooo, I made a ski track in the forest

Collapse
 
chrisgreening profile image
Chris Greening

Yeahhhhhh 😎 enjoy Nick that's sick!

Collapse
 
codenameone profile image
Shai Almog • Edited

My latest post got some attention in various channels. Was on an advisory board call and felt I provided good feedback.

Picked a lot of talks for a major conference as part of another advisory board.

Finished another chapter and getting really close to the finish-line of my new book. Recorded videos for another conference.

Collapse
 
vulcanwm profile image
Medea
  • I played a song cover I arranged myself at a school concert
  • I did an engineering competition with 5 other people in my year and we got through to the finals
Collapse
 
chrisgreening profile image
Chris Greening

Congrats Medea those are some fantastic accomplishments!

Collapse
 
vulcanwm profile image
Medea

thanks!

Collapse
 
danbailey profile image
Dan Bailey

When I came back to coding about two years ago -- after a 15-year layoff -- I started an online bootcamp in order to sharpen my skills. I finally got around to finishing it this week. Learned a ton. Very pleased with myself.

Collapse
 
chrisgreening profile image
Chris Greening

Yay Dan that's great! Best of luck on your continued learnings, can't wait to see where it takes you :D

Collapse
 
br4ndycode profile image
Alexander • Edited

I adedd a few new features on my new laravel project
BTW I wrote my first post here

Collapse
 
hlnvoyer profile image
Helene Voyer

I'm starting a new project. It's going to be a mobile application in Flutter. I love it when I have a lot of ideas for features to implement in it.

Collapse
 
davepile profile image
davepile

I'll give you a like when you finish it.
Haha, only joking. Best of luck!
(but still no like yet- get off Dev and back to work)

Collapse
 
hlnvoyer profile image
Helene Voyer • Edited

A little taste of where I'm at right now. It's very basic navigation but I can install it on several different platforms.

As of today:
Current Project Status Below the dev card

Last tab was me trying something with a bit more interaction.

Collapse
 
moraym profile image
Moray Macdonald

Rewrote a load of our system management shell scripts to make them much easier to use (writing a series of posts about that as we speak), and discovered the amazing ShellChecker VSCode extension in the process.

Also successfully convinced my boss that as our customers are pretty quiet at the moment, we should spend the next sprint upgrading to the latest Node LTS version! Wish me luck...

Collapse
 
richard profile image
Richard • Edited

Finished and deployed a side project. It’s a job board for people looking to hire Venezuela talent working remotely.

On the way, I taught myself NextJ, Prisma and Vercel.

Collapse
 
aneeqakhan profile image
Aneeqa Khan

I successfully upgraded an old react native app from version 0.6 to 0.7 at work 🎉

Collapse
 
jrewlogic profile image
JetaunBrown • Edited

I learning not to use arrays when writing BASH scripts when shell-scripting. :-/ :-)

Collapse
 
louiseann93 profile image
Lou Willoughby

I had a pretty great week for work 😊, my main focuses have always been front end but I’ve started working more with PHP lately, learning on the job and worked with different controllers, models and wrote my first unit tests! After that I worked on some front end working on some old code and built my first vuex store, mixin and created some funky coloured icons depending on their status. Overall felt pretty chuffed and challenged 😊

Collapse
 
michthebrandofficial profile image
michTheBrandofficial

I implemented state management for my new Javascript framework - NixixJS despite the fact it work only with strings and numbers for now. Source code at github.com/michTheBrandofficial/Ni...

Collapse
 
ferceg profile image
ferceg

Installed a habit tracker app on my phone (called Habits /Android/) and started tracking a few things: drinking enough water, working on my side project, etc.