DEV Community

Michael Tharrington for The DEV Team

Posted on • Updated on

What was your win this week?

Hey folks! πŸ‘‹

I'm currently away on vacation in Alaska but scheduled this post. πŸ™Œ If only I could schedule a comment to tell y'all my win β€” pretty sure it'd be that I'm on vacation. πŸ˜‹

Anyway, hope y'all are collectively having a fantastic Friday and that you all have wonderful weekends!

Looking back on this past week, what was something you were proud of accomplishing?

All wins count β€” big or small πŸŽ‰

Examples of 'wins' include:

  • Starting a new project
  • Fixing a tricky bug
  • Sewing, knitting, or anything crafty 🧡

Awkwafina with a trophy in her hand standing in front of a yellow background being showered in confetti, just all around looking like a boss.

Top comments (17)

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor • Edited

I got my first pull request merged into the Netlify CLI!

fix: added missing mock geo data #5231

πŸŽ‰ Thanks for submitting a pull request! πŸŽ‰

Summary

Adds missing mock geo data for local development. This can be merged before github.com/netlify/pod-ecosystem-f... is completed.

Fixes #5232 Relates to github.com/netlify/pod-ecosystem-f...


For us to review and ship your PR efficiently, please perform the following steps:

  • [x] Open a bug/issue before writing your code πŸ§‘β€πŸ’». This ensures we can discuss the changes and get feedback from everyone that should be involved. If you`re fixing a typo or something that`s on fire πŸ”₯ (e.g. incident related), you can skip this step.
  • [x] Read the contribution guidelines πŸ“–. This ensures your code follows our style guide and passes our tests.
  • [x] Update or add tests (if any source code was changed or added) πŸ§ͺ
  • [ ] Update or add documentation (if features were changed or added) πŸ“
  • [x] Make sure the status checks below are successful βœ…

A picture of a cute animal (not mandatory, but encouraged)

Collapse
 
derlin profile image
Lucy Linder

I finally got a bit of success with an article on dev.to. First time I reach more than a dozen reactions :)
dev.to/derlin/devto-is-for-webdevs...

Collapse
 
andypiper profile image
Andy Piper • Edited

I was on a panel talking to Computer Science students at Durham University about my career in tech πŸ€“

Also, I was a guest on a new Twitch show and talked about MicroPython.

Collapse
 
rutamhere profile image
Rutam Prita Mishra

I won the Hacktoberfest Main Prize from @mindsdb. It's this Razer beast. 🀩
razer.com/hard-bundles/Razer-Blade...

Razer 15

Collapse
 
mindsdb profile image
Costa Tin

Congratulations, Rutam!
Well deserved. Thanks for your regular contributions to MindsDB!

Collapse
 
rutamhere profile image
Rutam Prita Mishra

The pleasure is all mine πŸ™‚ Happy to be contributing to MindsDB πŸŽ‰

Collapse
 
giulio profile image
Giulio "Joshi" • Edited

Made my first working unit test for a bash script (using shunit2).

Collapse
 
michthebrand profile image
Ikechukwu Charles

I finally found a developer community => DEV.to.

I stopped forcing myself on ReactJS just because it's the hotttest technology in the web dev world right now.

Started learning php. Never knew it was a scripting language.

Collapse
 
nguhprince profile image
Prince

Wrote two articles on a chess game I've been working on. Check out the part 1 here: dev.to/nguhprince/creating-a-chess...

Collapse
 
hazelmart profile image
Hazel

I got my certificate in digital marketing this week.

Collapse
 
integerman profile image
Matt Eland

I had a few this week:

  1. I was a panelist at a local conference for Chief Data Officers & Chief Technical Officers discussing hiring and mentoring developers
  2. I got a session accepted to the Global AI Student Conference in December
  3. I managed to streamline my video creation process so that I can quickly make decent quality videos at my desk in a reasonable amount of time.
  4. I used this setup to release 5 new short Machine Learning videos to my YouTube channel
Collapse
 
codenameone profile image
Shai Almog

Spoke at London Java Community which was nice. It was a good talk. Filmed 6 segments for my upcoming course on debugging. Deleted all and refillmed 3. Got feedback on them which is positive. But I want to get it perfect so I'm reshooting them for the 3rd and hopefully final time.

Attended a spring conference and got a chance to speak to many of the speakers. Pretty interesting people I wanted to meet for a while. Wrote a blog post on the trip which I'll post early next week. Submitted the first chapter of my new book to review.

Collapse
 
kurtissfrost profile image
Kurtiss Frost

I completed my Personal writing challenge

I completed my Google technical interview for a potential job.

I got a markdown project completed

I finished up a python file I was working on

I acquired a ton of awesome vinyl records

So, overall, it's been a really productive week.

Collapse
 
codeystein profile image
codeyStein

My most recent blog post got the most ammount of views and interactions I had every have!

Collapse
 
sureshpandiyan1 profile image
Suresh P • Edited

genie

I just builded desktop application :)
for more information about genie, you can visit github

github.com/sureshpandiyan1/Genie

Collapse
 
arafatiqbal profile image
Arafat Iqbal

Started contributing to Open source! Got a pull request merged into Reactjs.org documentation beta website πŸ”₯

Collapse
 
bahamas2023 profile image
Lahcene Ouled Moussa

Great job
Best wishes,
Lahcene