DEV Community

Jasper Stephenson
Jasper Stephenson

Posted on

Hidden Coding Challenges?

So I was on a website today trying to send some money between continents, and I ended up rooting around in the console looking for an error that I thought might have occurred when I saw this in the log:

Welcome to TransferWise's CLI challenge.

Use the object 'DevChallenge' to communicate with me.
Just set the DevChallenge.answer property to send in your answers.

Also don't forget to mention the last keyword when
you apply for a job at TransferWise :)

First question: are you ready?
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

link – open the console

I've seen these types of challenges before, and I was bored, and long story short I completed their whole 10-question code challenge.

Simply put, I thought it was really fun!

So, I have a few questions for the dev.to masses:

  1. Does anyone know of more of these? I have some time to kill and I want to do more!
  2. It seems like most of these are trying to drum up baseline-qualified applicants for dev jobs with their service. Do you think that a code challenge like this is actually useful for either applicants or hiring directors?
  3. What's a question you'd definitely put on your hidden test if you were to design your own?

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
tterb profile image
Brett Stevenson

I'm a little late to the convo, but I found one for Pinterest awhile back.

I was similarly bored and so it was kind of fun, mostly involved answering a variety of questions using the simulated bash console and the browser developer tools.

After I finished the challenge, I sent an email to the provided address but never received a response.

Collapse
 
midblue profile image
Jasper Stephenson

Yeah, I never got a reply from the one I posted about either! Seems like there's a pattern of people making these and forgetting about them. Pity.