DEV Community

Mirhan Tanriverdi
Mirhan Tanriverdi

Posted on

Feeling demotivated

Feeling like a noob and quit it couple of times..

the first time I started to think about coding is when I was a kid but I chose rather to be a social butterfly and now I am 26 years old, tried many times learning coding python, JS, React, DBs, and many more but all ways at the end, I felt overwhelmed and quit it.

Now, Because of this I feel like a faild looser and I want to fix this. Any suggestion on how to? I know where to start but how you guys are staying motivated?

Top comments (3)

Collapse
 
kurealnum profile image
Oscar

Find an end goal to focus on. That can be anything from getting ice cream when you finish something on your to-do list, or something like a new car. I suggest something a little bit more on the long term side, otherwise you'll find yourself constantly looking for a new goal. Also, make sure it's achievable :).

Collapse
 
eliskaholwe profile image
Elis Kaholwe • Edited

It'd be great if you'd outline what technologies you're already familiar with so far ? you're the type of person who always wants to know everything, as you mentioned trying to learn Py, JS, and a couple DBs
I'm not trying to boast, but here are some honest, helpful, practical advice, whatever you might call.

  1. Take a white paper on top write clarity, underline ( Be honest with yourself on that paper write EXACTLY what you really want from this iceberg ( This will also help to create constraints and scope of your roadmap (what to Focus on and what to Ignore). Outline exactly what you want to do within tech.

2.Step one is done ? Now so you know where you belong and why. Go for some open-source resources online ( It can be Github, Stack overflow, Reedit, Youtube) and observe to see which tech stacks are most supported and widely used in your chosen field. (The field you Decided on step-1)

  1. Sorry, but it's what it is ! With a roadmap and resources in place ( Video tutorials, Couple pdf notes, Unnecessary screenshots, some github cloned repos and such ), FOCUS ! this whole tech can be very confussiiing in some point, with no enough focus, you will always end up in coming asking for advices like this. All the doubts, fear of not-knowing and can be coped by simply doing extra-reps and more exercises)

  2. DON'Ts ! Don't rush into platforms like LeetCode or competitive coding until you've launched at least 5 stable projects. These platforms can be overwhelming for beginners. Also, don't start job hunting until you're confident in your skills. (you know, you'll know if you know when you know).

  3. Don't trip. "Ye shall never go a day without coding, for coding is ye and ye is coding"

  4. We've all been there, and it might take some time. I'm Elis, a 22-year-old fourth-year JavaScript developer specializing in the MERNN stack (adding an extra 'N' for Next.js). I hope this advice helps you on your journey."**.

Collapse
 
adamfield profile image
Adam Field

I’ve experienced a similar lack of motivation. I’m currently an undergraduate studying computer science, so working on extracurricular projects is challenging sometimes.

I’ve found that I’m most motivated to work on small, attainable projects that have real users and a tangible impact. Especially if it’s in a domain I’m already passionate about. For example, I’m developing a remote-control app for my football coaches to help them in the film room. Also, I find that setting frequent deadlines also adds a little external motivation.