DEV Community

Amara Graham
Amara Graham

Posted on

She Coded! But she tired from the week.

I'll make this quick. A lot has changed since my last #SheCoded post -

  • I got a promotion.
  • I switched companies.
  • I took on a strategic role.
  • I moved from an IC to a people manager. (And a manager of manager!)

That's just the big items. I'm incredibly proud of the work I've put in to get this far and I made sure to take some time to celebrate along the way. I always recommend you do the same.

But what hasn't changed is I still make time to code, hone my technical skills, and learn new topics. You will still see me learning in public, educating folks on my "gotchas", and making the developer experience easier when working with anything in my sphere of influence.

Nevertheless, she coded. But she's tired and thank goodness it's Friday!

Top comments (13)

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

I got a promotion.
I switched companies.
I took on a strategic role.
I moved from an IC to a people manager. (And a manager of manager!)

Wow, big year!

Collapse
 
missamarakay profile image
Amara Graham

Right? I like to remind myself its ok to do some deep couch sitting away from my computer after all that!

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

❤️ X 💯 for the title alone. 😂

But in all seriousness, you totally should be incredibly proud... and totally deserve a good long nap. 😴

Have an awesome weekend and thanks for everything you do on DEV & beyond!

Collapse
 
lauragift21 profile image
Gift Egwuenu

Congrats!!

Collapse
 
missamarakay profile image
Amara Graham

Thank you!

Collapse
 
ziv profile image
zivka

How do you feel regarding the change into devRel position?

Collapse
 
missamarakay profile image
Amara Graham

I’ve actually been in DevRel for awhile, initially as a community manager then more recently a developer advocate. I love DevRel, it’s a great fit for me! But with this strategic position I can grow a team and focus on developer experience, which I didn’t have an opportunity to really do as a developer advocate and individual contributor.

Collapse
 
ziv profile image
zivka

Thank you.
And Wowza is awesome!

Collapse
 
alvaromontoro profile image
Alvaro Montoro • Edited

Wow! Congratulations!

Collapse
 
missamarakay profile image
Amara Graham

Thank you!

Collapse
 
alexantra profile image
Alex Antra

Congrats on all the change! Good stuff!

Collapse
 
missamarakay profile image
Amara Graham

Thank you!

Collapse
 
john_papa profile image
John Papa

🙌👏