DEV Community

Cover image for A new way to construct/debug Arrays
Mehul Lakhanpal
Mehul Lakhanpal

Posted on

A new way to construct/debug Arrays

A few days back while I was working I wrote a long block of code that made use of map, reduce & filter. Without testing I finished the code assuming it's gonna work but it broke. I had to console.log every operation to debug it. It was a minor issue, but I spent more time debugging it as I had to convert every shorthand arrow function to a regular function, log it, & revert it back after fixing it.

I couldn’t find a tool that matched my needs. So I thought of making it.

‘Array Builder’ - A free tool to visualize the output of array operations

Provide an array, write code inside map/reduce/filter blocks & see the results live in the adjacent column.

It simplifies writing blocks of code & debugging chained operations.

It was a small interesting weekend project & I am launching it today.

Image description

DemoProduct Hunt

arraybuilder.com

Hope it brings some value
Thanks :)


Few other projects:

  • Fireboard - A work tracker for software developers
  • File Ops - A VS Code extension to easily tag/alias files & quick switch between files
  • Code Drops - Micro-blogging on Web development

Top comments (0)