DEV Community

Maxim Nosov ✪
Maxim Nosov ✪

Posted on

Contribution to project

Hello!

Today I had experience contributing to another project. I worked with other person code, made some code modifications according to requirements.

That was a great experience: reading other person code was not hard, once everyone uses common agreement of writing code. I enjoyed working with people, who are coding in the same language as me :)

In order to modify the code, I had to fork this project and create another branch (I called it issue-6), so that I won't bother working version. After I made some modifications, I had to make pull request, so that the owner could accept my changes and merge my branch with his main branch. I never did this before, but that's what people do in open source a lot. I enjoyed learning how to do that and providing detailed information about what I changed in the code.

I worked on this git repo and here I made pull request.

To sum up, I enjoyed contributing to working project and trying to make it better :)

Top comments (0)