DEV Community

Ajay Kumar Devarakonda
Ajay Kumar Devarakonda

Posted on

My first react application

Made my first React + Node project, please take a look at: https://ajaydevarakonda.dev/anonchat/#/

Planning to make more changes to the UI design. Going to use google mdl. If you are interested in sending a pull request with UI design improvements, github repository: https://github.com/ajaydevarakonda/anonchat

Top comments (10)

Collapse
 
itsmenatalie profile image
Natalia

Hey, I wanted to push my design proposition to your repo but it says "access denied". Are you sure you allow pull requests?

Login
Chat

Collapse
 
munky_d_luffy profile image
Ajay Kumar Devarakonda

Did you fork the project? You have to fork it first, you can't push code into my repo.

Here's a tutorial: egghead.io/lessons/javascript-how-...

Create a new branch for the changes, feature/ui-beautify for example.

Collapse
 
itsmenatalie profile image
Natalia

It's just me being silly as I forgot that... 🙄 Thanks :P

Collapse
 
munky_d_luffy profile image
Ajay Kumar Devarakonda

If possible add two different branches, one for changes in landing page and another of chat page. Send two different pull requests.

Collapse
 
itsmenatalie profile image
Natalia

Welp, I'll send one as I needed to change a bit files structure... :<

Collapse
 
itsmenatalie profile image
Natalia

Hey, I'm not sure how you build the projects as I can't see any webpack configuration. Did you think about adding SCSS to the project?

Collapse
 
dance2die profile image
Sung M. Kim

It looks like it's bootstrapped with create-react-app.

github.com/ajaydevarakonda/anoncha...

He used yarn (as you see yarn.lock file in the project), so you should be able to just do yarn start or yarn build (to build)

Collapse
 
itsmenatalie profile image
Natalia

Oh I know how to start it up 😂 I meant how he deployed it. I just thought about adding SCSS :P

Thread Thread
 
dance2die profile image
Sung M. Kim

Woops, I am sorry, I misread your reply 😅

Collapse
 
munky_d_luffy profile image
Ajay Kumar Devarakonda • Edited

I did not think of adding scss.

I used create-react-app to develop and build and gh-pages npm module to deploy the application to my github project page. github.com/ajaydevarakonda/anoncha...