DEV Community

Cover image for What's Your Fav Lang?
Mustafif
Mustafif

Posted on

What's Your Fav Lang?

What's your favourite programming language? Any particular reason like difficulty/learning curve, job prospect, tools, etc.

For me personally, it's Rust, one reason is that I love all the tools integrated into Cargo, the language's syntax that just works like how I think, and the memory/thread safety in safe Rust.

I always see myself using it in some way, even in my own programming language that's written in C, guess what going to make all of the documentation (html/man pages), exactly it's Rust!

Please feel free to comment your favourite language and some reasons of why.

Top comments (53)

Collapse
 
ernestvonmoscow profile image
VanPonasenkov

C. Whenever i write in other languages (Apart from assembly) i feel like i'm doing something else alongside programming, for example, studying philosophy (When writing in OOP style). Whenever i write in C i feel like i'm making computer go beep boop

Collapse
 
mustafif profile image
Mustafif

That's very interesting and I get what you're saying, when I write in C I really do feel oh this is what's going to happen, I really do feel like I'm talking to the computer.

Collapse
 
crinklywrappr profile image
Daniel Fitzpatrick

Clojure, because it makes programming fun!

Also, it has a lot of dialects. Well over 10. Knowing Clojure allows me to target a variety of platforms effectively. JVM, CLR, Node, JS, ....

Collapse
 
mustafif profile image
Mustafif

I'll be honest, I've never heard of Clojure but I'll definitely check it out.

Collapse
 
theapexcaliber profile image
Terry

I didn't know that I could develop for JVM and CLR with Clojure. That's enough to add it to my next learning objective. Thanks!

Collapse
 
acoh3n profile image
Arik

I'm going to have to say MS Basic. I know, I know, I know, hold on. I'm not picking it for its merits as a language. I'm picking it because that was the first language my 8-year-old-self ever saw in their life. It's the one that got that first light bulb to go off in my head with an audible "whoa". It's the one that is still largely responsible for my career choice in life -- 33 years later -- so while I haven't touched it since, and while I would not necessarily recommend it to newcomers now, I owe it this much ¯_(ツ)_/¯.

Collapse
 
mustafif profile image
Mustafif

That's very sentimental, I know before I got into Rust, I was really into C++ and even though I haven't touched it since, theres still a lot of what I understand in programming that's owed to it.

Collapse
 
nathan20 profile image
Nathan

RUST for sure

Collapse
 
mustafif profile image
Mustafif

Yeaaaahhhhhh

Collapse
 
theapexcaliber profile image
Terry

Why Rust might I ask?

Collapse
 
fen1499 profile image
Fen

Sometimes I feel like I hate all languages, except for the ones I don't know enough to hate them. Considering this it would be elixir.

Being a bit more serious now, I like C but I don't really know why, and python because it's very practical for any kind of automation.

Collapse
 
brassel profile image
Captain Fim

Haskell - you can express your mental concepts very clearly. Sometimes I find myself solving a problem in Haskell as it allows you to concentrate on the essentials and then recoding the solution in the environment I need it in.

Collapse
 
miguelmj profile image
MiguelMJ

I usually love every programming as long as my current program is working, but when the bugs appear, I feel like it's the worst language ever! Now seriously, if I had to pick, here would be a top 3 in no particular order:

  • C++ because it was my first programming language and feels so natural to me.
  • Python because it makes me feel like I can program literally anything in a few lines.
  • Prolog because it makes my brain feel weird.
Collapse
 
nombrekeff profile image
Keff

Dart, for mobile apps, and lately web apps too.
TS for web
Python or JS for scripting
I quite enjoy C# for windows stuff

But if I had to pick one, it would have to be dart, I freaking love it

Collapse
 
mustafif profile image
Mustafif

Interesting, I've definitely preferred Flutter for mobile compared to other frameworks, I haven't done much with it but I may look into it again.

Collapse
 
nombrekeff profile image
Keff

Could not recomend it more, I think I will live 10 more years thanks to it! Once you get into it, it's a pleasure to work with. It's evident that Google learned what not to do in a framework from the problems angular had and still has.

Almost eveything within it makes sense, no confusing apis, very logical and intuitive naming and excelent docs!

Give it another try, you will not be disappointed

Thread Thread
 
mustafif profile image
Mustafif

That's enough encouragement to give it another try, thanks!

Collapse
 
nicolemachado profile image
Dev Nicole

My favorite language is JavaScript, because I started with JS about 11 months ago. I feel that I can easily learn this language, and I already work as a JS frontend. But I also like Python, I studied for a short time and I want to study again this year!

Collapse
 
kingstar1115 profile image
kingstar1115

Good.

Collapse
 
vulcanwm profile image
Medea

Python definitely!

Collapse
 
gigatt profile image
Evans✨

We’re the same here 👍

Collapse
 
eljayadobe profile image
Eljay-Adobe

I don't have a single favorite.

My favorite compile-to-binary application language is D. I find it to be "a better C++ than C++".

My favorite general purpose scripting language is Python.

My favorite functional programming language is F#.

My favorite embedded scripting engine language is Lua.

Collapse
 
dev2give profile image
aden1web

PHP

Collapse
 
walid profile image
walidul • Edited

..

Collapse
 
erfannvb profile image
Erfan

Don't jump to conclusions. First of all I started programming with Visual Basic 6. Then I learned C, C++ (not much, actually) and I learned C#, it was really great, I even could do some projects as a freelancer. But after that I got hired in a company and they wanted me to learn Java and JavaScript, so I wanted the job and I learned them. And now I'm majoring in AI, so started learning Python.
Between all of these languages my favorites really are:

  1. Java
  2. Python
  3. C#
  4. JavaScript
Collapse
 
coder_mohan profile image
MOHAN👨🏻‍💻 • Edited

My favourite language is Kotlin, because it has everything that i wanted like, how it compiles to target different set of platforms by which i can make various types of applications, its interoperability with other languages, different paradigms that it supports, its modern syntax and idiomatic style, coroutines, tools, its features that i cannot find in other languages, how much object-oriented and functional it is that we can make our own dsl(s), it is useful for scripting too, and u can find even more advantages of kotlin in my blog post:

Collapse
 
guithomas profile image
Guilherme Thomas

My first code was written in .lua so it gets a special place in my heart.