DEV Community

Md Nabil Ahsan
Md Nabil Ahsan

Posted on • Updated on

Seeing ugliness in the Wild, Wild Web.

How to deal with terrible looking websites?

As a soon to be graduating Computer Science student, it's time for me to begin job hunting. Go to LinkedIn and type in front-end web developer position and select Internship or Entry level and go through each job posting to see if you are qualified to apply.

Sometimes you will come up with something that matches what you are looking for. Sure, it's unpaid, but at you might get the mentorship you are looking for, all the while building your startup on the side. Before you apply, you decide to check the company out. You will definitely want to know where you will be doing your internship.

Turns out the website for the company is stuck in 2008, and on LinkedIn, it says they are looking for a web developer intern... You see what's going on... right?

So what do I do?

Do I reach out as a freelancer and ask them if they are looking for a redesign? It might help. I want to be a freelancer.

Or do I take the job? I tried calling and emailing them... it's been a month and no reply whatsoever.

This isn't just one experience that I have had, there has been several. After going through these websites, I estimated that it might take me 2-3 days to come up with a good intuitive design and 4-5 to build a completely mobile responsive static site.

My college professors also have terrible websites. How would I approach them? (Don't worry... I got As in all their classes). It might be a good way to earn some money.

If anyone could help me out, that would be awesome. Also, first time posting. Yay!

Top comments (2)

 
nabilahsan profile image
Md Nabil Ahsan

I'm actually gonna make a dummy one with Netlify CMS to get the hang of it.

Collapse
 
nabilahsan profile image
Md Nabil Ahsan

Thanks for the reply. I am trying to incorporate a CMS as well so they can just change basic info for every semester. So it'll take a while. But yeah research is everything.