DEV Community

Cover image for 150+ users registered in 24 hours on website created for fun
Naman vyas
Naman vyas

Posted on

150+ users registered in 24 hours on website created for fun

Hello everyone,

for some days i was working on a simple social media website created using NextJS, TailwindCSS and firebase for learning and fun and yesterday created a Dev post about making that project(website) public to internet.
Dev post Link : Post
Website Link : noob.study

I was not expecting much attention from that post so after writing i did go to sleep, after waking up i was checking my phone as normal and open that website to check how it is going and find out there was around 10-11 new posts which is amazing after that i rush to my Dev post and Firebase console and find out 69 peoples registered on website and 10 stars in my GitHub repo which was too amazing for me, got very good response.

wowww

In the end of day i got 158 users registered and also some bugs to fix

now main challenge for me is to fix all bugs as fast as possible and optimize Firebase integration because i got around 22,000 read request which is not good for me if website grow like that maybe i will have to close that project because i can't afford to pay for this project right now.

It is a great experience for me. Love Dev community.

Top comments (12)

Collapse
 
abhaysinghs772 profile image
Abhay Singh

Bro if you work more on the login page of your website , you will definitely get more users because I am also trying to login even after fulfilling all the login requirements properly.

Collapse
 
namanvyas profile image
Naman vyas

Actually just 1-2 hours ago my firebase quota limit get hit so that's way it's not working properly but hopefully it will be back in some time.
Thank you :-)

Collapse
 
abhaysinghs772 profile image
Abhay Singh

Really excited to use your web app

Thread Thread
 
namanvyas profile image
Naman vyas

Site is live again, now you can visit. thanks for overwhelming response :)

Thread Thread
 
abhaysinghs772 profile image
Abhay Singh

Still facing same issue bro

Thread Thread
 
namanvyas profile image
Naman vyas

Yes, I forgot to remove localhost and somebody just brute force the site :(

Collapse
 
valerii15298 profile image
Valerii Petryniak

Hi, bro)) there is still bags!! 🙂

  1. When upload profile picture it doesn't not set proportion correctly!!
  2. When I created my first post and liked second one, likes in my post was the same as second thought actually no one liked it. And when I tapped to like my post it became 0 likes from 4 likes, and when I liked it one more time it became "-1" likes !!! Sorry for my English, I'm from Ukraine 🙂😊🙂
Collapse
 
namanvyas profile image
Naman vyas

I find those bugs recently and now fixing them. Thanks for information 😊

Collapse
 
sajjad2700 profile image
sajjadahmadi4

I wish there was a guest option, because I dont want to put my info on a website which is currently under development.

Collapse
 
namanvyas profile image
Naman vyas

I don't think it is good option for me because it will increase my firebase requests. For now you can use dummy data to enter site :)

Collapse
 
ausmurp profile image
Austin Murphy

If you add login with Google or another 3rd party it will reduce firebase calls and thus quota usage.

Collapse
 
namanvyas profile image
Naman vyas

Yes, I'm working to change email login to google login but a little worried about non-gmail users.