DEV Community

Cover image for I Think Blogging Is Important And Here's Why :
Nazanin Ashrafi
Nazanin Ashrafi

Posted on

I Think Blogging Is Important And Here's Why :

We just entered 2021 and it's time to stop postponing your things and start doing .

Maybe you've been thinking about blogging for a while but you're not sure whether to start it or not.

Blogging can be a scary thing but it can also be a good thing.
It has helped me in some ways, so my answer would be don't think about it, just go for it.

And here's why :

1. It helps you with having a better understanding of concepts :

There's this saying : "you'll learn better by teaching" and I think we've all heard it.
And yes it's true.

I, personally learn better by teaching, even if it's not something technical.
When I try to put my knowledge into words (which is a hard thing for me btw) it helps me understand things better.

Let's say you want to teach someone something.
You don't know what level they're at, so you can't just jump into hard stuff right off the bat.
You need to break down the problems into simpler things so that they can understand.
Doing so will help you greatly to have a better understanding of the concepts.

2. Learning some new stuff along the way

Sometimes when I Google to look for a specific thing to add on my blog, I find/learn something new along the way. Isn't that cool?

3. If you're not a native English speaker, it could help you to improve your English

If you're not a native English speaker like me, you might find blogging a hard thing.

My English is okay but it's not that great.
So when I write something, I need to make sure there are no errors and everyone understands what I'm saying which leads me to wanting to improve my English.

4. you can make money

I'm still trying to figure this part out but yeah apparently you can make money.

Here are some ways I've found on Google :

  • Use affiliate marketing on your blog.
  • Add banner adverts to your website.
  • Write advertorials and sponsored content.
  • Charge for sponsored social media posts.
  • Write guest blog posts for media outlets.
  • Work with an agency to build your blog.
  • Sell digital products on your blog.
  • Sell your blog's newsletter space.

5. It could help you to get a job

I've seen some people sharing their experiences about how blogging helped them get the job easily .
I remember seeing a few tweets about this : "I was at a interview and the interviewer was like we saw your blog, you're good, you're hired."

6. It helps other people

You may write a very simple post and think it's stupid but you don't know who will read it! Maybe someone else is having the same problem as you had, and your blog could help them.


So you see?
No matter how you look at it, you will benefit from blogging.

Then how about adding it to your new year resolutions now? and enjoy its benefits?

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
primevaldad profile image
david palmer

Thanks Nazanin. Nice encouragement!

Have you considered steemit.com for the make-money element of blogging?

Good luck to you!

Collapse
 
akshayvarshney6 profile image
Akshay Varshney

Thanks Nazanin. You have mentioned so many good points. I feel a lot of motivated to write my next article.
This article is worth bookmarking it will help you to gain motivation when needed.
πŸ™ŒπŸ™πŸ˜Š