DEV Community

Cover image for How did you set up your blog
Nedy Udombat
Nedy Udombat

Posted on

How did you set up your blog

Hello Everyone,

I am trying to set up my blog and I want to be able to track things like reads, page visits and other metrics for analysis.

Do you mind sharing how you set up your blog, tools and technologies you used, and how you tracked analytics? Links to your blogs and links to articles where you wrote about it(if any) would be appreciated.

Top comments (6)

Collapse
 
devdrake0 profile image
Si

You will want to set up Google Analytics, that will give you all the analysis you'll need I'd imagine.

Annoyingly, I actually make a blog from scratch using a headless CMS, and blogged about the whole process, but I shut down the website yesterday so the post is gone from public view!

Collapse
 
nedyudombat profile image
Nedy Udombat

Thank you for your contribution. I have noted these down.

Collapse
 
devdrake0 profile image
Si

Are you looking to set-up a blog from scratch (i.e. design the frontend, backend etc) or do you want a CMS system?

I use Ghost CMS for Code Tips and have found it to be very good.

Collapse
 
26th_edmund profile image
Edmund πŸš€

my blog is theninja.codes, built with Gridsome and I use Netlify CMS for writing, It's a bit JAMStacky, I use Google Analytics to track all that, It might not be as feature-rich as the ones with WordPress or others but it does the Job.

Collapse
 
binyamin profile image
Binyamin Green

I don't write on my blog that much. It uses Jekyll, and Netlify CMS integrates very well with it. I don't really check the analytics, but I use google analytics.

Collapse
 
hpj1992 profile image
Harshit • Edited

Here is my blog on how to setup personal blog website from scratch using Hugo.

dev.to/hpj1992/personal-website-10...