DEV Community

Cover image for Full-Stack React & Node.js - Introduction
Dave
Dave

Posted on • Updated on

Full-Stack React & Node.js - Introduction

An easy tutorial series that teaches full-stack with React, Node.js, Prisma and SqlLite DB

A small plant growing

This series is simple and fast. The code repo link will be at the bottom of each post. To use this tutorial there's no typing. Instead, as you read, you only need to:

  1. Create files and folders.
  2. Paste in the code.
  3. Run a few shell/CLI commands.

I will make 2 or 3 posts per day over the next few days until this is finished. If you have any problems, questions or suggestions then please add them.

You need:

  • node.js
  • npm
  • An editor

If you don't have node or npm, these links should help: Node.js, NPM

A perspex training padlock

When you learn lock-picking you use training locks that expose the mechanism.

When I learned full-stack web development (back in the 90's) my biggest problem was understanding how all the pieces fitted together. I studied an app from an experienced developer, made changes - and it broke!

The problem: a lot was going on that I couldn't see. In this tutorial I will expose the "conversation" so you can see what's going on. Because, full-stack, is really just a conversation between the web-site and the server and between the server and the DB; they communicate and they each do their own thing.

I'm not going to explain in detail how the React code or CSS works. This is more about how the pieces fit together and communicate. I will explain in detail how the layers in the stack communicate and I will try to include some useful things I've learned, where relevant.

A cartoon minion with arms in the air and text, "let's get started"

Next: Part 1, Create The Client

Code repo: Github Repository

Top comments (0)