DEV Community

Cover image for 💥 Get unique, quality developer content delivered to your inbox every 2 weeks
Nevulo
Nevulo

Posted on • Originally published at nevulo.xyz

💥 Get unique, quality developer content delivered to your inbox every 2 weeks

Subscribe to the Nevuletter to get helpful tips, tricks and advice made for programmers. Built for the community. Scroll down to learn more ⤵️

Nevuletter banner

Nevuletter is a newsletter with a special curation of programming blog posts from myself (Nevulo), as well as other killer content from the community; including helpful articles and neat GitHub projects for you to look at - all neatly packaged up and delivered right to your inbox every 2 weeks.

You can subscribe here for free and I promise I won’t spam you, and no BS or low quality content. I take your privacy seriously.
It only takes 10 seconds.


🧐 What’s in it for me if I subscribe?

I get it, yet another newsletter to get on.
But, stay with me for a second, because I think this is worth your while. This is no ordinary newsletter, and that's by design.

I want to keep the content simple to understand, but rich in value at the same time.

An average Nevuletter will contain the following:

  • Some posts/guides that I’ve put out in the past 2 weeks to help you

  • A few articles about relevant programming topics to read including but not limited to new/updated frameworks (not limited by any specific language), interesting lists or statistics, opinion pieces, guides, etc.

  • “What’s good on GitHub?” - a segment dedicated to showcasing 2-3 great GitHub repositories that might help you or a project you’re working on

  • Ideas and inspiration for your own projects

  • Other little bits of information (what’s happening in my life, something I learned, etc)

All that every 2 weeks, not bad!

Every Nevuletter will have a range of content and topics, so you’re always learning something new, and to keep things interesting - I don’t want to make people fall asleep when learning about programming!

Don’t worry, no matter if you’re a beginner or advanced, I’ll try my best to have something for everyone each time. We’re all here to learn and have fun.

🔎 What does it actually look like?

Still not sure what all the fuss is about?
You can read the latest issue on cybersecurity right here; what it is, why it matters and how you can actively improve security for users of your applications. There's no reason not to check it out.

🔐 Serious about cybersecurity: protecting your software from cyber threats

One half of the latest Nevuletter on Cybersecurity
This is only half of one Nevuletter (and this is less than usual 🤯)

You can see all archives of the Nevuletter here!

📚 Why I did it

The idea behind the Nevuletter is to have a simple way to ship any new content I write as well as other content from the community to your inbox.

Ultimately, my mission for the blog (and in extension the Nevuletter) is making programming concepts more accessible and understandable.

Specifically, to make them more accessible, I want to have a newsletter where I can ship you a supply crate full of programming knowledge every 2 weeks.

I want to provide as much value as I can to developers of all levels (including those just looking to start out) so whenever you’re feeling bored and you see a Nevuletter drop in your inbox, after reading it you'll be able to take away key learnings and actionable tips to actively improve yourself on your developer journey.

This isn't just any kind of newsletter. This is the Nevuletter.

💻 How it works

A lot of the heavy lifting is done by a service called Buttondown which is an elegant and advanced tool for creating newsletters and integrating it with a website. A lot of the little things like setting a custom domain to send from (you’ll receive the Nevuletter from news@nevulo.xyz), hosting a custom site for people to subscribe, and a rich API to send information and set up a custom subscription form for my website.

I combed through a lot of different services, some which satisfied some needs, but not others, but settled on Buttondown for its simplicity and focus on privacy - at the end of the day, I just want to send quality content that brings value to your inbox.

A lot of the things like writing the newsletter, subscriptions, and styling are all handled through Buttondown which is really nice, so there’s not much for me to manage on the technical side for me. I had to do a few things like setting up DNS records to be able to send emails from my nevulo.xyz domain and write some code to connect the subscription form on my website to the Buttondown API, but nothing crazy.

I write the newsletter using “Markdown”, a mark-up language which allows me to add basic formatting (for heading, subtitles, images). There is some HTML involved when writing the newsletter content, because I wanted to have a nice, modern design for previews to articles or my blog content. I eventually want to have a standardised way of generating HTML embeds to put in the newsletter, but for now I’m still kind of playing around with the previews.

Conclusion

I’m really excited about the Nevuletter and integrating it with my blog to send you high quality content from myself and others in the community every 2 weeks. I’ll be experimenting around with a few things to make learning about programming concepts more engaging/exciting, and giving as much value as I can to subscribers.

One last thing: Nevuletter is also a “pay what you want” newsletter - you can subscribe completely for free but if you wish to support future issues, feel free to put any monthly amount you’d like. There’s no pressure whatsoever, I greatly appreciate any support and it helps me to curate even better content for subscribers.

You can subscribe to the Nevuletter here. Unsubscribe at any time.


Have any other feedback or questions? Let me know your thoughts in the comments!

Share this around with other developers, so they too can get a package of inspiration, detailed guides and other helpful information 😎 🥳

Top comments (0)