DEV Community

Cover image for Why I Don't Find Coding Tutorials As Helpful Anymore
Miko 👾
Miko 👾

Posted on

Why I Don't Find Coding Tutorials As Helpful Anymore

Once upon a time when I was learning how to code about 2 years ago, I discovered the many different branches of software development and was eager to learn them all.

It essentially felt as though the programming world was my oyster because of the unlimited amount of resources in online courses and tutorials that were available to me - I could learn anything whenever I wanted and as fast as I wanted to!(At least that's what I thought at the time.)

Course after course, and tutorial after tutorial, I was having so much fun setting up new project environments and following walkthroughs on how to build a new app or game, that I lost sight of what was really important to software development and programming in general.

Over time I started to realize that I was following these tutorials to a T thinking that I actually knew the material being taught, but in reality when I tried to implement a similar project on my own, I could barely get past the set up stages. The picture below essentially describes my situation:

Alt Text

What I've learned over the course of the last few months is that if you really want to know how to develop on your own, or retain information on anything you're learning generally speaking, you just have to jump in and do it.

I'd be lying if I said that I don't look at coding tutorials from time to time if I get lost on how to start or implement something, or if I just want to learn something new. But I've learned how to take the pieces of information I do need and use them to make my own thing.

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
ozgurkalan profile image
Özgür Kalan

Totally agree.
The horse picture is epic :)

Collapse
 
newbcoder profile image
Miko 👾

Thanks, I found it from Google images!