DEV Community

Scott Wears
Scott Wears

Posted on

Back end, Express and an introduction from the careers team.

Another late entry to this series, originally I had planned to write these on a Sunday evening, but its not my fault this time promise.

last week on boot camp introduced the core concepts of back end, Express and PostgreSQL, this is now reflected in the Kata's we do every morning and the lectures we have during the day.

Back end although incredibly challenging is also incredibly interesting. I've always had a fascination on how things work under the hood and the topic of back end fits that.

The basic's

the first thing we learned how to do was to take our knowledge of node http and use that to host a very basic web server, then use Asynchronous code to read information files (replicating a database).


const http = require('http');
const server = http.createServer((req, res) => {
  res.statusCode = 200;
  res.setHeader('Content-Type', 'text/plain');
  res.end('Hello World');
});

server.listen(3000, '127.0.0.1', () => {
  console.log(`Server running at http://127.0.0.1:3000/`);
});
});
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

after that we moves onto express which is becoming our module of choice when it comes to hosting our web applications.

const express = require('express')
const app = express()
const port = 3000

app.get('/', (req, res) => {
  res.send('Hello World!')
})

app.listen(port, () => {
  console.log(`Example app listening at http://localhost:${port}`)
})
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

I don't think based on the basic setup there's much difference in the lines of code but express makes life a little easier for us so far.

PostgreSQL

last week we also learned SQL using PostgreSQL, I really enjoyed learning SQL, I think the syntax is incredible easy to understand I think its a really nice way to get information back from a database. I think one of my favourite things with SQL is how the syntax looks like its just a GIANT sentence, I don't think it needs to shout all the time though

'SELECT * FROM sky WHERE syntax = awesome ORDER BY something ASC'

Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

the Careers Team

Last week a new channel appeared for us on slack and with it the introduction to the careers team, it was amazing introduction on how the careers guidance works for the bootcamp and I'm excited to find out and write about more in the future.

A HUGE thank you

I need to say a huge thank you to all the tutors this week, Its been a difficult week, first my daughter caught COVID from somewhere so I needed to help care for her and in doing so I also caught COVID, the beginning of last week was horrible, I was really ill couldn't concentrate on much, the tutors were nothing but awesome, telling me that it was okay if I rested and understanding that my work wasn't possibly as progressed or on par with normal. although I managed to power through the week I appreciate the tutors reaching out to check on me and make sure I was okay to work.

I'm still recovering from COVID but I'm refusing to give up, the boot camp has been so amazing so far, its also such an amazing opportunity and a chance to progress as a developer I don't want to miss out..

Top comments (0)