DEV Community

Cover image for What's one thing you wish you had known before you started your career in web development?
Niall Maher
Niall Maher

Posted on

What's one thing you wish you had known before you started your career in web development?

What's one thing you wish you had known before you started your career in web development?

For me, it was just picking one topic and focusing rather than try to learn everything. 🧠

I'd love to collect some answers for a blog post people just starting out or feeling a little bit lost.

If you would like your twitter or anything linked to the advice add it after your comment. 🐦

Top comments (9)

Collapse
 
archeelux profile image
Arturs Timofejevs

I guess for me is to not get into all that java script framework nonsense and just learn the language it self, rest will follow.

Collapse
 
nialljoemaher profile image
Niall Maher

That's for sure, I'm glad I didn't know about all the frameworks in the bubble I learned in 💜

Collapse
 
jsn1nj4 profile image
Elliot Derhay

For one thing, I wish I had known Git. I didn't know it during college or even for a while after. I ended up learning it via Code School's "Git Real" video courses.

Collapse
 
nialljoemaher profile image
Niall Maher

This is actually a really common complaint, I actually got decent with git because of code school too 😂

Collapse
 
jsn1nj4 profile image
Elliot Derhay • Edited

Maybe Git and svn should be required for learning programming in college, at least on a basic level.

I only mention svn to show a difference between distributed and centralized SCM methodologies though.

Collapse
 
iamhabeeb25 profile image
Habibu Mamudu

That it actually isn't meant for specific group of people with higher IQ.

Collapse
 
nialljoemaher profile image
Niall Maher

Yes, definitely some people scared of the barrier of entry!

Collapse
 
falcon721_84 profile image
falcon-721

Hello
Nice to meet you.
I have one request.
Could you help me?

Collapse
 
nialljoemaher profile image
Niall Maher

You can DM on twitter @nialljoemaher

Some comments have been hidden by the post's author - find out more