DEV Community

Niaz-Ul-Haque
Niaz-Ul-Haque

Posted on

Aha! The feeling of completing the Start.

Honestly... The 1st and 2nd week has been the best starting weeks I had so far. Learned tons of things regarding opensource, programming, in general the whole development. I started of my week in a not so happy note as I lost my grandmother last week, so was not on my best mood. The opensource slack communinty played a huge part on the motivation that I needed to go back to coding. Thank you to the CDOT Slack community by staying super active!

I created my first ever CLI named nlinks. what nlinks does is, it goes thorugh a list of websites and comes back with a result. If the link is working, it will show up as "GOOD", "BAD" if it isn't, and "UNKNOWN" if it's lost or due to timeout. Had so much fun making it as it was my first time doing it.

You know what was more fun? Yep, interacting with the open-source world. I had few people reviewing my code and suggesting very good examples and pointing out errors. This not only helped me learn, it also made me proud to be a member of the open-source community. They always have your back (regarding development). Ohh, Guess what? I also tested and reviewed few programs during this week. I issued handfull of errors, fixed, and made new friends. I found something I had common with the errors I found, it was that when we code, we tend to forget very small details. I was able to fix all of my issues as it wasn't major. The problems that I issued to others were also fixed.

(I'll add my github as well as the ones that I found issues in at the end of this blog)

Well, to conclude on this week, started of with 0 energy, now looking forward to what open source has next. I am very eager to learn about pull request which I'll be doing the upcoming week. Oh, and I am getting ready or Hacktober, gotta fix some issues. Till then, Thank you.

My GitHub (Nlinks) repo -
https://github.com/Niaz-Ul-Haque/nlinks

Found/Fixed/Recommended some issues in - https://github.com/sanji11/find-broken-link
https://github.com/joelazwar/linkChek

Top comments (0)