DEV Community

Nick Hudson
Nick Hudson

Posted on

Building a Search Engine of Good.

Let me preface this post with the following. Growing up I was never a "writer" in any way. I have many strengths but the ability to write was never one of them. In fact, it wasn't until this past year where I forced myself to not only write about the projects I am working on but to do it in a way that is entertaining and concise.

To begin, Searcha. is a search engine just like Google or Bing. Our business model is the same, however, instead of money going into corporate pockets, it goes to local charities all across the world. In fact, Searcha. is owned by a 501(c)3 nonprofit organization!

Unlike most search engines, Searcha. doesn't track nor log your searches. We believe in total privacy now and forever.

Searcha. is intended to be a community. A place where everyone has a seat at the table to bring about a positive difference. A search engine by the people, for the people. No matter your area of expertise.

I need help now. I have gotten the engine running but the design is mediocre at best and a few final things are needed such as a chrome extension, final syndication integrations, and a mobile app in the future. These final little things are over my head so I figured id put my community idea to the test and see if I can gather a few developers, designers, and fans.

I also considered making a series talking about the founding of this project and to keep the community up to date about what's going on in its development. Let me know what you think of this project and if you want to be a part of this movement, then we will love to have you!

You can check it out here: https://searcha.org

Top comments (4)

Collapse
 
fultonbrowne profile image
Fulton Browne

Do you have any api's?

Collapse
 
nickhudson profile image
Nick Hudson

It depends on your context. We operate off of Bing's API to retrieve the search results. Searcha doesn't have any APIs of its own at the current moment.

Collapse
 
jeffderbyshire profile image
Jeff Derbyshire

Have you heard of duckduckgo.com/

Collapse
 
nickhudson profile image
Nick Hudson

I am a big fan of duckduckgo.com! Part of the inspiration for the search privacy.