DEV Community

Cover image for Productivity Tools I Use
Nick Taylor
Nick Taylor

Posted on • Updated on • Originally published at iamdeveloper.com

Productivity Tools I Use

Here is a short list of some great tools I've discovered over the past year.

macOS Only

Free Apps

Raycast Search

  • Dato - A better date app for macOS. I also love that you can have clocks for different timezones. I have a UTC clock which is super helpful when working on a remote team with colleagues all over the planet.

Dato Calendar App

  • Fig - VSCode style autocomplete in your terminal. It's more than that, but this is one of the first big things they've released.

Fig autocomplete in action

Paid Apps

  • Bartender - For managing your menu bar. I used to use Vanilla, but with the notch in newer MacBook Pros, Bartender made the menubar more usable when dealing with lots of menubar icons.
  • Webcam Settings - Helps me prevent my Logitech webcam from losing focus. I also use it for zooming in on my webcam.

Webcam Settings App Advanced Settings screen

  • CleanMyMac X - All I can say about CleanMyMac X is it has so many great tools for keeping your Mac running in tip-top shape.

CleanMyMac X main screen

  • Cleanshot X - For better screenshots and screen recordings. I've found this super useful, and the UX is great. And to top it off, there is a great editor to modify your images.

Cleanshot X image editor

OS Agnostic

  • Starship - A customizable cross shell prompt. I love the extra info out of the box it provides for the shell prompt.

Starship shell prompt in action

  • mcfly - An enhance search for your shell history. Super charged CTRL + R!

mcfly shell history search in action

Check out my uses page if you want to see everything in my toolbox.

Photo by Dan-Cristian Pădureț on Unsplash

Top comments (36)

Collapse
 
thomasbnt profile image
Thomas Bnt ☕

Thank you for making me discover Starship 😁

I've got some errors in my WSL Ubuntu console with Nerd font, but I'll have fun getting more information and a nice terminal.

WSL Ubuntu console on my Intellij with Starship

Collapse
 
dhravya profile image
Dhravya

Starship is amazing! i wrote about it almost a month ago. nice to see it becoming more mainstream haha

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

Geordi Laforge in a sweater saying “No problem”

Collapse
 
tmchuynh profile image
Tina Huynh

Beautiful apps! Sometimes I miss my macbook but it's been years since I switched to Windows and now I'm in love with Linux

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

You should write a post about the tools you use on Linux! 😎

Collapse
 
tmchuynh profile image
Tina Huynh

That's a great idea! I'll put it down on the list 😀

Collapse
 
moopet profile image
Ben Sinclair

After spending 2 minutes looking at the fig web page, I have no idea how to install it or even what it really does.

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

I had the opposite experience. It’s seemed pretty clear to me that it provided autocomplete for the terminal based on the first image.

I’m sure @brendan from Fig would appreciate this feedback as they aim to make things as straightforward as possible.

Collapse
 
moopet profile image
Ben Sinclair

Yeah, it provides autocomplete, but it looks like it does some sort of graphical shenanigans, yet says it's not a terminal emulator, but works with pretty much any terminal emulator. My guess is that it does something like the way you can show jpegs in terminals that support it, but who knows? Watching a gif of it in action could be showing native Cocoa stuff for all I can tell. Maybe there's a different spin of it for each OS?

There's no installer, and a lot of things that are links on the site don't go anywhere.

Thread Thread
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

It's a lightweight webview on top of your terminal from what I've understood. It's using TypeScript and I believe they've been working on a moving parts to Rust.

@blackgirlbytes did a Twitter Spaces with @brendan this past week if you want to give a listen to the recording.

Thread Thread
 
moopet profile image
Ben Sinclair

OK, I've listened to that. I'd never heard of Twitter "spaces" either, so TIL :)

Thread Thread
 
moopet profile image
Ben Sinclair

And ah... it's MacOS-specific at the moment, which is why nobody can download it. I'm actually really curious about this and how it'll be different from existing auto-complete shell functionality besides looking more graphical.

Thread Thread
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

Ahh, thanks for mentioning that. For some reason I thought it wasn’t macOS specific. I’ll update the post.

Thread Thread
 
brendan profile image
Brendan Falk

Yes, macOS specific. Confusion likely came from the fact that on macOS we show a download button, on Linux/Windows we show a waitlist sign up form!

Good catch, we should make this more clear.

And thank you for recommending Fig, @nickytonline !

Collapse
 
therealgrinny profile image
Connor

Starship is a top of the line addition to any shell that it supports. Been using it for about a year and some already; makes spending lots of time in the terminal a lot more bearable since I have a mini-HUD available right above the prompt.

Collapse
 
andypiper profile image
Andy Piper

Useful stuff here, I'll definitely be trying Starship.

Sell me on Raycast? I'm a long-time Alfred user, keep hearing / reading comments about folks using Raycast, but since you're someone who made the switch, talk me through it?

I'm well overdue to put together a .uses myself, might get around to it sooner rather than even later...

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor • Edited

I was happy with Alfred and then I tried out Raycast. It did everything Alfred did that I was using and even more.

I use it for window management, it has built in converters for measurements, etc.

I know there are Alfred workflows for that, but basically I just couldn't be bothered to switch back.

Although I already paid for the Alfred PowerPack, for folks looking for a free solution for personal use, Raycast is a good option.

More on the differences here, raycast.com/faq.

Collapse
 
ivana_vnucec profile image
Ivana Vnucec

You unlocked a new level of productivity for us!

Few days ago I was also researching all productivity tools I know and organized them by categories - such as code writing, task management, knowledge collecting, time-tracking, keeping the focus. Then explained them. Maybe it would be helpful as well 🤞🏽

➡️ Productivity tools

Collapse
 
star_trooper profile image
Atharva Shirdhankar

@taskade is one best and awesome productivity tool currently I m using the most🚀😃.

Collapse
 
Sloan, the sloth mascot
Comment deleted
Collapse
 
kmukabe profile image
Kacha

+1 to @thomasbnt 's comment, Starship is a pretty awesome find!

Thanks for the recommendations!

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

A T-Rex saying Yeah!

Collapse
 
dru profile image
Asdrubal

this is perhaps the best tool there is for screenshots, app.prntscr.com/es/ you can make anotations, copy in your clipboard so you don't have to save it in your PC and paste the content anywhere.
if you are using linux/ubuntu, get flameshot, is basically the same

Collapse
 
andrewbaisden profile image
Andrew Baisden

Love Starship its one of my favourites.

Collapse
 
ganwani_kamal profile image
kamal ganwani

nice and thanks for providing amazing tools

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

Actor Zach Galifianakis giving a thumbs up in a convertible car

Collapse
 
hyosung11 profile image
HyoSung Bidol-Lee

Thank you for sharing this list. I look forward to testing out some of these tools.

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

Chow Yun-fat giving a thumbs up

Collapse
 
nerajno profile image
Nerando Johnson

Gonna steal a few tips

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

Ben Stiller in Starsky and Hutch saying Do it

Collapse
 
waylonwalker profile image
Waylon Walker

Starship is POG! I'm still on the fzf game, I've tried mcfly and it just never stuck for me.

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

I’m giving mcfly a go. So far I’m enjoying it. As always, use whatever tools make you the most productive. 😎

Collapse
 
liviufromendtest profile image
Liviu Lupei

I'm obviously going to mention Endtest here.
It's the fastest way to create automated tests and run them on a cross-browser cloud.