DEV Community

Cover image for Revue being phased out by Twitter
Nick Taylor
Nick Taylor

Posted on • Updated on • Originally published at nickyt.co

Revue being phased out by Twitter

If you're like me, you may have jumped on the let me integrate Revue with my Twitter to better surface my newsletter train.

Using Revue has helped increase my readership, but unfortunately it looks they are phasing it out at the end of the year, so I started exporting my subscribers yesterday.

I decided to go back to buttondown.email which is what I was using before I was trying out Substack, then Revue.

If you're currently using Revue, I advise to do the same. If you do, where do you plan to move your newsletter to? If you're not sure where, there are a bunch of great suggestions in this thread.

Photo by Mathyas Kurmann on Unsplash

Top comments (12)

Collapse
 
katafrakt profile image
Paweł Świątkowski

Damn, I've been planning to move my newsletter to Revue for almost a year now. Guess it's one of these times when procrastinating is actually beneficial.

Collapse
 
andypiper profile image
Andy Piper

Really sad about this (and that Twitter Notes, the merger of Revue into Twitter core, is now presumably not going to happen - we had some very cool plans around longform content on Twitter, but that was in the old times…). Good reminder that I’ll need to rethink my newsletter options.

Collapse
 
andrewbrown profile image
Andrew Brown 🇨🇦 • Edited

Things are just falling apart at the seams everywhere it appears for social media.

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

People playing Jenga as it collapses

Collapse
 
devshirt_club profile image
devshirt.club

We simply use mailchimp

Collapse
 
aritdeveloper profile image
Arit Developer

Whelp! I was seriously considering coming back to Revue, as I saw they added a bunch of new editing features. Hearing this now, I'm glad I stayed put where I am!

Thanks for the info, @nickytonline!

Collapse
 
dhravya profile image
Dhravya

Yeah, this is too bad

Collapse
 
rishabk7 profile image
Rishab Kumar

This is sad, I had been using revue for almost a year now.
Have to decide where to go now.

Collapse
 
codenameone profile image
Shai Almog

Damn, I have some subscribers on Revue I need to send out a newsletter. I'll encourage them to migrate. Hadn't even occurred to me.

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor • Edited
Collapse
 
ashutoshmishra profile image
Ashutosh Mishra

Sad, Revue widget on Twitter was too good.

Collapse
 
kisanpakhreen profile image
Kisan Tamang

Is there any way to exprot your past issues from Revue?