DEV Community

Cover image for Why ‘Screw Optimization’ is My New Mantra
Nolan Miller
Nolan Miller

Posted on

Why ‘Screw Optimization’ is My New Mantra

Before the LeetCoders jump in, let me clarify: I’m not advocating for sloppy algorithms. Instead, I’m challenging the obsession with finding the perfect solution before taking any action.

The Perfectionist’s Dilemma

For the past two months, I’ve been telling myself to stop obsessing over the optimal solution and just get started. As a perfectionist, I’ve always wanted to ensure every system I implement is flawless—whether it’s a productivity tool, a gym routine, or learning a new programming language. This obsession often led to paralysis.

Instead of hitting the gym, I’d spend weeks perfecting the ideal workout plan. Instead of writing code, I’d get lost in researching the best resources, ending up with nothing but wasted time. I bet some of you can relate!

When Planning Becomes Procrastination

This phenomenon is called productive procrastination. Have you experienced it? It feels good, like you’re making progress. But at the end of the day, you haven’t moved the needle on your meaningful work. Worse yet, sometimes diving in headfirst without a plan just means spinning your wheels in familiar but unproductive patterns.

The Cost of Chasing Perfection

The key is finding a balance between planning and action. If you’re spending two hours planning each day, you’re stuck in productive procrastination. If you constantly switch directions after every task, you’re suffering from a lack of planning.

In my experience, endless hours spent searching for the “right” way to do something often results in producing less meaningful work.

Embracing Imperfection: My New Approach

So, what’s the alternative? Create a non-optimal plan and don’t stick to it rigidly. It sounds counterintuitive, but sometimes all you need is a rough idea and the courage to get started.

Let's say I want to learn Python. I just have to start with a basic outline and a project idea. As I encounter problems, I can to my resources and adjust my plan. This approach will allow me to not only learn concepts but also apply them in real-world situations, leaving me with practical knowledge and a working project, even if I did backtrack occasionally.

Just Get Started

The point is simple: just get started. You’re going to make mistakes and take wrong turns, but that’s part of the learning process. Trying to optimize every second will paradoxically waste more time than if you had just begun.

So, to all my fellow perfectionists out there: start now, refine as you go, and don’t let the quest for perfection hold you back.

Top comments (0)