DEV Community

Cover image for What did you learn this week on Dev.to?
Nočnica Mellifera
Nočnica Mellifera

Posted on

What did you learn this week on Dev.to?

Tell me one thing you learned this week! It could be advice, programming, or anything you’ve been proud of.

Top comments (18)

Collapse
 
rusty_xx profile image
Grey_W I N D

So far this week
I have learnt what APIs basically and i love the idea of using data from another website. Call me lazy but lol, its pretty awesome.
I have also learnt async/await syntax and how to use them in my code. Here's my repo on that github.com/rustydcoder/fetch-api-call .
And this week I started a project on building something from spotify web-api but i am kinda stuck. So a weekend break will do.

Collapse
 
jonoyeong profile image
Jonathan Yeong

I needed to add a method to the Ruby File class. I found out you can do this by:

file = File.new(...)
def file.new_method
   do_stuff
end 
Collapse
 
namhle profile image
Nam Hoang Le

You just add a new method for instance of File class, or it’s what you need :D

Collapse
 
drbragg profile image
Drew Bragg

If you need/want the method on the File class and not just the instance you could do:

class File
  def new_method
    # do_stuff
  end
end

file = File.new(...)
file.new_method
Collapse
 
moopet profile image
Ben Sinclair

Not quite this week, but I learnt that DEV has multiple Twitter accounts specific to different languages, so you can choose which ones you want to follow.

Collapse
 
hamiltondustin profile image
hamiltondustin

I read a great article by Michal Gomicki about being his story on changing careers and starting his web development journey in his 40s. As someone who was recently told that I was “too old to try to get into the game” even though I have gone to school for it in the past (2006) and just need to get up to date on current languages and trends, I found his article VERY inspirational and after reading it, I told my wife about it. I have been attempting to learn on my own through Udemy courses and I am so happy that I have found Dev.to. It has brought me great ideas, reading material and inspiration. Thank you again for your article Michal and thank you to the Dev.to community as a whole.

Collapse
 
_martinwheeler_ profile image
Martin Wheeler

Nearly 33 and trying to get into the game myself! Best of luck to you!

Collapse
 
hamiltondustin profile image
hamiltondustin

Best of luck to you as well!

Collapse
 
camerenisonfire profile image
Cameren Dolecheck • Edited

As someone who has worked "in the game" for over 5 years, I can say you definitely can do it. I think the notion that older folks (somehow 44 is considered old haha) can't learn and adjust to this new skillset is wrong.

I get the sense the negativity is most prominent in the start up community, but I can say the company I work for would think of someone applying to entry level position all the same no matter age. In fact, if the individual sold themselve well, I could imagine wanting the older applicant more because of the extra experience outside of just the technology.

Collapse
 
hamiltondustin profile image
hamiltondustin

Thank you for your insight and inspiration. I am learning something new every day. Even about the software that I work for as a customer support agent.

Collapse
 
camerenisonfire profile image
Cameren Dolecheck • Edited

I'm starting to help set up our CI/CD pipeline in Azure, so I learned about Azure Resource Management templates and started to help configure ours.

Collapse
 
srleyva profile image
Stephen Leyva (He/Him)

This week I learned about c++ memory management and optimizations. Things like move semantics, smart pointers and lifecycle. It makes my head hurt but the more I use it...the less my head hurts 😂😂

Collapse
 
joe733 profile image
Collapse
 
thisdotmedia_staff profile image
This Dot Media

Aw this is great! Awesome conversation starter and way to engage with one another 😄

Collapse
 
kayis profile image
K

Dev.to cover images are 24:10 while all other social networks use 19:10 💩

Collapse
 
nishantwrp profile image
Nishant Mittal

That blogging is important.

Collapse
 
malikturk profile image
Malik Türk

I've read about Deno js and how to build a CRUD API using Deno and Mongo