DEV Community

Nagesh Pobbathi
Nagesh Pobbathi

Posted on

🤔How do you feel about low-code tools for technical users?

No/low code has been the rage with companies like Webflow and Bubble doing some great things. But they’re targeted towards non-technical users to build new, green field projects. Technical users have been hesitant to embrace them for reasons like code quality, broken workflow, etc.

I feel like lowcode can help technical users too by automating some of the most tedious tasks like building pixel-perfect UI, for example. Clean code would be a must-have, as well as preserving the dev workflow.

Does anybody have any requirements to embrace such a tool? What would be your cause for concern?

Top comments (9)

Collapse
 
jeremyf profile image
Jeremy Friesen

My concern always comes dow to two things:

  • How easy will it be to maintain?
  • How easy will it be to extend?

In my experience the more distance between me and the ability to "get my hands on the low-level code" the more likely I'm going to get super frustrated when there's a breaking bug and I'm powerless to remedy it.

Collapse
 
npobbathi profile image
Nagesh Pobbathi

Yes, agree.

Collapse
 
shriekdj profile image
Shrikant Dhayje

as per my case, i found people who use these types of services like wordpress or webflow and i offer them troubleshooting for solving there issue for them in future ( chargable ) and in most cases I Solve them easily because of knowledge of the issues like database connection error like can be solved by changing it's code

Collapse
 
janwagenaar profile image
jan-wagenaar

I agree on the maintainable. As with every software architecture, spaghetti code is just around the corner. This not the fault of low code platform but rather the users. I'm currently working with low code, I think it's a great way to speed up your design process. I see some critism below, but I'm doubting that all of you have experience in low/no code. It's not wrong, you should use what you like.

Collapse
 
curiousdev profile image
CuriousDev

If you are a technical person (knowing how to use a programming language), I think you actually need a good reason to pick no-code/low-code tools, because it also adds complexity to the whole project, if your are still doing custom development.
Usually in a company you could give these to people doing more business stuff ("Citizen Developers") and letting the Software Developers handle the tasks, which cannot or should not be done with no-code/low-code. But maybe this is a different topic.

Collapse
 
npobbathi profile image
Nagesh Pobbathi

Thanks Nate. Which tools do you use typically to generate code?

 
npobbathi profile image
Nagesh Pobbathi

Thanks Nate.

Thread Thread
 
abelardusbm profile image
Abelardus

Hi Nate, curious to know what tool you used to convert SQL scheme. Thanks!

Collapse
 
shriekdj profile image
Shrikant Dhayje

also we can make an alternative of any open-source alsoby this