DEV Community

Cover image for DEV Challenge: Beaches πŸ–οΈ
Olivia Pandora Stokes
Olivia Pandora Stokes

Posted on

DEV Challenge: Beaches πŸ–οΈ

This is a submission for [Frontend Challenge v24.04.17]((https://dev.to/challenges/frontend-2024-05-29), Glam Up My Markup: Beaches

This is my submission to the Frontend Challenges: Beaches. I've seen the other challenges, thought about entering and then felt like I didn't have the time/skills. But I want to keep practicing my programming, so I decided to give it a try!

When I decided to do this, I knew I wouldn't spend a ton of time on it, so my first choice was to let the colors do the heavy lifting. My instinct is to make design choices that match my own style, but I wanted something different, but still felt like me. The idea of beaches made me think of early summer, but also a vintage 1950s/1960s summer ads on the beach when all the colors are saturated, vibrant, and warm. This is the idea I wanted for the picture I ended up choosing, along with the colors. The white, has a slight yellow tint and instead of black, I'm using a very dark blue. All to maintain the contrast, while softening it.

While I was doing this, it reminded me of how much I like the design process, the colors, fonts, and thinking of how it all flows together. I also want to learn some more advanced CSS, so I can code my portfolio website and any other small projects. I wouldn't say this is my best work by any means, but I'm glad I didn't let that stop me. I did have some more complex ideas, but to save time went a simpler way. The idea is I can look back at this code later on and easily think of improvements or changes. I also realized I don't know any JavaScript because Python became my focus. I do want to learn JavaScript at some point, but I'm not sure when.

Overall, I'm happy I was able to get some practice in and I hope to participate in more challenges in the future!

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
jess profile image
Jess Lee

πŸ™Œ

Collapse
 
oliviapandora profile image
Olivia Pandora Stokes

Thank you ⭐