DEV Community

OliverOdo
OliverOdo

Posted on

Stop fighting with npm by isolating it into a container

Hello,

Let me share a small script that i'm using on my local machine to develop.

Before we start, let me share a bit more my profile: I wrote my first line of code 15 years ago and I'm not so much into following trends... Then I develop using vim, tmux and ... bash (yes still ๐Ÿคช)

As you know nowadays there is new tools, new version, new framework, new system... Installing all of this into your machine has a cost.

A new way of working by isolating projects

This is why a few years ago, I made a shift to work only within Docker container... And I LOVE IT! ๐Ÿš€

I made a small script to automate the flow...

As a NodeJs developer i was tired of:

  • Installing global module into my computer.
  • Using nvm to change node version.
  • Having conflict between projects.
  • Tracking all the weird files that are installed in my HOME folder
  • keep trying to save space...

Now all of those problems are gone since I don't have node installed on my computer anymore, the only way I use node is through an isolated container by using this script:


#!/bin/bash

# File located in: ~/.dotfile/scripts/docker-run.sh

port=""
while getopts "p:" arg; do
  case $arg in
    p)
      for I  in "$OPTARG"
      do
        port="-p $I $port"
      done
      ;;
  esac
done

name=${PWD##*/}

docker run --name ${name} -v $(pwd):$(pwd) --workdir $(pwd) ${port} -it node:14 bash
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

and adding this into my ~/.bash_alias:

drun="sh ~/.dotfile/scripts/docker-run.sh"
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

Then when i run the alias command in a project folder:

drun -p 8080:8080
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

It will:

  • Create a fresh container with the name of the current folder
  • Map the 8080 port of my local machine into the 8080 port of the container.
  • Mount the current folder into the container.
  • Enter in the container.

From there, I can still edit the file from my local machine, but run any node command from the container

Example:

asciicast

Conclusion

If you are still reading until here, I think you understand the potential of this. It can be use for any use case.
I also use this tips a lot, to try different programing language without installing them.

Let's break the dependency with our machine as much as possible ๐Ÿ˜‡.

I forgot: Take a look at RestQA

See Ya!


More about Me:

Top comments (0)