DEV Community

Cover image for 🚀 Mobile App deployment automation 📱
Laurent Schaeffer for opt-nc

Posted on

🚀 Mobile App deployment automation 📱

🎩 Intro

As a I was working in my company, something struck me. All of our app where shipping in a CI/CD pipeline except one thing... mobile app 😱

What you'll learn on this post is a common and easy way to automate mobile app deployment.

❓ The 'Why'

When one of my colleagues showed me the process to deliver a mobile app (On 🤖 Play Store and 🍎 Apple Store), I was shocked by the number of step to do for deployment of a new version.
I though we were back to the 80s when we had to connect to servers to deploy an application 😵

So i was thinking to myself, as somebody ever thought of automated these ?
As i was searching for a way to do it, I found this tool named... Fastlane 🤩

🔨 Fastlane

I discovered this on a blog post on medium when searching for a solution.
I learned that it was a toolbox for all thing related to mobile app (Screenshot, certificate, etc...) and the deployment was the feature that i was most interested in.
It took me two days to know how it work, implement it and... WOILA !!!

I was able to automate the deployment of new features on our mobile app without manual repetitive task.
It was like magic 🧙

📹 Demo (< 13')

As a like to say : Talk is cheap, show me the code. And I will do more than that... A demonstration in a video which demonstrate the tool in action 💪 !!!

💸 Gains

  • A lot of repetitive tasks performed by my colleagues were eliminated ♻️
  • Time saved could be invested in creating & delivering new features at a regular pace ✨
  • Drastic Time to market enhancement 📉

📑 Resources


GitHub logo lschaeffer313 / domaine-nc-mobile

Appli mobile pour la consultation des domaines en Nouvelle-Calédonie

📱 A propos

semantic-release Deploy to prod

Flutter Google Play

Discord

domaine-nc-mobile est une application mobile développée en mode Open Innovation et qui via la consommation d'API, permet de :

  • 🔎 Chercher des noms de domaines en .nc
  • ✔️ Visualiser les détails d'un nom de domaine particulier
  • 🔔 Enregistrer aisément la date d'expiration d'un nom de domaine comme reminder dans le calendrier de votre choix

🎦 Pourquoi cette appli' (en moins de 15')

Pour comprendre d'où vient cette application, une video dédiée est disponible.

🔖 Liens utiles

👶 Les noms de domaine en Nouvelle-Calédonie ?

"Quand on ne connaît pas bien comment internet fonctionne, le système des noms de domaine peut paraître un peu obscur."

"Les définitions que l’on trouve…

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
adriens profile image
adriens
Collapse
 
adriens profile image
adriens