DEV Community

Ozan-Tanaydin
Ozan-Tanaydin

Posted on

Question to all remote developers.

Hello everyone.
My name is Ozan and I am currently learning python and I want to work as back-end developer or anything with python(Before you say yes I am going to learn about javascript and necessary libs as well). I have no problem with studying and all but I really wonder how you guys find your remote jobs? Like did you applied to them or you knew someone who knew someone? and how I can do the same thing a junior developer for different country.

So let me tell you about my story so hopefully you can understand and answer me

I know I am sugar coating my question but here is my situation.

Currently I live in Turkey and the city that I live is touristic area so because of that there is no company is hiring right now(The hiring ones are hiring seniors). And finding job in bigger cities is not possible because the salary they are offering are not enough to cover my expenses. So only thing I have in my hand is remote works. I am willing to do everything I could to just start working. So How did you guys do and what is the way that the way I need to follow if local work is not possible?

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
theaccordance profile image
Joe Mainwaring

So I didn't chose the remote work life, the remote work life chose me.

I originally was hired for an in-office role at a startup in Chicago, but eventually we were acquired by another company in Austin Texas. I was one of the team members who stayed with the company after the acquisition. We still had a Chicago office for a while but ended up subleasing it during the Pandemic, forcing me to 100% remote work.

Clearly - my experience is not going to align with your hopes for entering the market, but after reading your story, my advice to you is as follows:

  • Get a sense for what an entry-level Python job looks like, and make sure you have the proper skills to compete in the job market. If you don't, then invest in yourself through online courses, bootcamps, or formal education.
  • Set the mental expectation that to find a remote job, you're going to go through an interview process. You may get lucky finding an easier path, but at least you'll be prepared for the hard work if need be.
  • Search the job boards. There are a lot of job boards these days, some are global and others are regional. Try to mix both while sourcing opportunities to pursue. If you need recommendations on job boards for remote jobs - ask Google.
  • Be open to non-python jobs to get into the market. I empathize with wanting to be a specific programmer, but if you're finding it difficult to get that role, consider switching to something else. You can always use the starter job to springboard into a more fulfilling career path after you have some experience under your belt.