DEV Community

Cover image for VS Code is insanely slow
Md Shykat
Md Shykat

Posted on

VS Code is insanely slow

I did the following:

  1. Remove the ESLint extension by Microsoft
  2. Disabled autosave
  3. Disabled quick suggestions, only show If ctrl+space

The most notable improvement I got was when I disabled the auto-save feature in VScode that I enabled a long time ago, it must've been triggering some other stuff such as IntelliSense, code snippets, etc.

Top comments (4)

Collapse
 
jonrandy profile image
Jon Randy ๐ŸŽ–๏ธ • Edited

VS Code is insanely slow

Probably because it's essentially running an entire web browser just to provide a code editor.

Use SublimeText - it's really fast

Collapse
 
pains_arch profile image
Md Shykat

Can SublimeText provide all the features like VsCode? please let me know

Collapse
 
jonrandy profile image
Jon Randy ๐ŸŽ–๏ธ

There's an extensive library of plugins, and I've never seen anything on VSCode there isn't an equivalent for on SublimeText

Thread Thread
 
pains_arch profile image
Md Shykat

"Thank you so much, Jon. That's amazing!"