DEV Community

Cover image for Scribble Cloud - Automation for E-writing Pads
Parth Doshi
Parth Doshi

Posted on • Updated on

Scribble Cloud - Automation for E-writing Pads

When in need for a notebook, being the tech geek that I am and trying to get eco-friendly, I decided to purchase a generic lcd writing pad from amazon. The biggest issue faced by users of such a writing pad is that it does not have storage. All the notes scribbles on it are wiped off with the click of a button.

The most common FAQs about these generic writing pad are whether they can store the sketches scribbled on them or not. This prompted me to believe that there is a demand for a solution to store and probably share the sketches. That is when the idea of creating a Siri Shortcut to click a picture and automatically send it to a designated EMail with timestamp in a template subject line.

Image description

Then I created a rule in my outlook inbox to automatically divert the mails containing the template subject line into a folder.

Image description

Then I purchased an NFC Tag Sticker, stuck it to the back of the writing pad and created an automation to trigger my shortcut on scanning this NFC Tag.

Image description

So this is a quick automation project that I implemented.

Click here to access the Siri Shortcut that I created. You can make changes to the recipients mail.

Top comments (0)