DEV Community

Pacharapol Withayasakpunt
Pacharapol Withayasakpunt

Posted on

How would you want the rich text editor for your end users to be?

Should it be WYSIWYG or some kind of markup language, like Markdown?

How do I make it powerful without compromising security?

I have just created Showdown-Extra with Showdown.js and DOMPurify, but recently, I think it would be best if I just use a WYSIWYG editor, like Quill.js.

GitHub logo patarapolw / showdown-extra

My custom settings for Showdown.js, such as CSS support and Pug

I have also created a demo. https://patarapolw.github.io/showdown-extra/

BTW, my plan is not yet something big like Discourse, but a self-hosted commenting system. I should probably limit features.

GitHub logo patarapolw / aloud

A commenting engine. Aloud your comments.

Some other options, I think, are basically markdown language with custom components, like MDX (React)...

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
jess profile image
Jess Lee

We plan to offer a WYSIWYG on the DEV editor eventually, but since our members are mostly developers, we started with the markdown editor. Who is your audience?

Collapse
 
patarapolw profile image
Pacharapol Withayasakpunt • Edited

Just non-devs, but I also plan to make it easy for others to install this one their own server as well.

I think CodeMirror is too colorful. SimpleMDE might be OK, but not sure.

BTW, I have seen Discourse using Markdown, successfully, even for non-devs. They use just a TextArea, I think.

I like utteranc.es. It is easy to install, but it seems that non-GitHub users cannot comment.

Here is the demo, but it cannot comment yet. aloud-comments.herokuapp.com/guide