DEV Community

Pacharapol Withayasakpunt
Pacharapol Withayasakpunt

Posted on

I went beyond Ubuntu. Any recommendations?

I have just installed Manjaro Linux for a few days, and loved it.

  • Xfce is the default desktop environment
  • GRUB more beautiful by default
  • Proprietary drivers are no hassle
  • Even deciding the partitions, or swap, is no hassle. (But it chose ext4 rather than btrfs.)

The last time I tried several distros was some ten years ago, like OpenSuSE, Fedora, Sabayon, Elementary, but never Arch or Manjaro.

I also noticed several different things

  • pacman instead of apt / apt-get
  • AUR git repositories: I started with pamac, but later learnt about yay.
  • I found this guide.

Otherwise, I can install all I wanted.

https://www.polv.cc/post/2020/09/xubuntu-customization

Top comments (4)

Collapse
 
archlinuxlove profile image
archlinuxlove

Manjaro is just awesome, cutting edge, and all the latest software.

Collapse
 
patarapolw profile image
Pacharapol Withayasakpunt

Really?

Manjaro won't let me install pgadmin4-5.1. It is breaking the promise of always up-to-date?

Collapse
 
flyingcakes profile image
Snehit Sah

Manjaro holds back packages from the Arch Repos. To get up to date packages, Arch is the way to go. On Manjaro, packages land a few days later.

Collapse
 
archlinuxlove profile image
archlinuxlove

have you tried the yay?