DEV Community

Cover image for How I Dived into Hacktoberfest 2023: A CSS Animation Adventure
Anuj Patel
Anuj Patel

Posted on

How I Dived into Hacktoberfest 2023: A CSS Animation Adventure

I had the incredible opportunity to participate in Hacktoberfest 2023 for the first time. My journey began when I purchased the Zero to Mastery (ZTM) course on Udemy and joined their Discord server. The community in the Discord server was buzzing with discussions about Hacktoberfest 2023, which motivated me to take part in this exciting event.

One of the repositories I contributed to during Hacktoberfest was the Animation-Nation project hosted on GitHub (https://github.com/zero-to-mastery/Animation-Nation). My task was to create a simple or complex animation using only HTML and CSS, without involving SVG. After brainstorming, I got inspired to create a ping pong game animation using CSS.

I dedicated an entire day to coding and perfecting the animation. After completing it, I submitted a pull request (PR) to the repository. To my delight, my PR was merged, and my animation was featured on their site (https://animation-nation.netlify.app/). It was a proud moment for me to see my work live and accessible to others.

Animation Nation site

Furthermore, I received an email from Hacktoberfest confirming the acceptance of my PR, adding to the sense of accomplishment and motivation to continue contributing to open source projects.

Accepted Pull request by Hacktoberfest 2023
Hacktoberfest 2023 was an enriching experience that taught me a lot and ignited my passion for further involvement in the open source community. I look forward to participating again in future Hacktoberfest events and contributing to more amazing projects. 🚀 #Hacktoberfest #OpenSource #Community #CSSAnimation

Top comments (0)