DEV Community

Patrick Lehmann
Patrick Lehmann

Posted on • Updated on

JavaScript Saved My Life

It was New Years Day, 2018. I knew that I had to make a career change but I just didn't know where to start. My reality was this: I was working 70 hour weeks in all weather conditions on top of an hour and a half commute one way each day. I was getting toxic paint on my clothes and skin. I wasn't able to take care of myself physically, constantly eating whatever food I could find on the road, becoming overweight and unhealthy. I had worked at my previous employer for five years. I felt that if I could get enough experience and time in with the company, I wouldn't have to do so much of the "grunt work" anymore. Apparently, management didn't have the same idea. I vividly remember crying in my work van one day. I had enough.

Growing up, mostly because of how this industry is portrayed in the media, I had always looked at software development as something that was very interesting but was for people that were much smarter than I. I never really understood what it took to thrive in this industry. Because of that, I thought that I was destined to work jobs that I didn't like, but paid the bills. It wasn't until a couple of friends from high school, who were also in similar predicaments as myself, became software developers that I saw this as something I could do for myself and began to gather information on how I could join them.

My journey started with a couple of free resources. I wanted to see if this stuff was really for me. I got started with a few basic courses on JavaScript and I really enjoyed it. I gained more confidence as I learned and after a couple of weeks, I took the leap and enrolled in a bootcamp. By April of 2018, I was starting bootcamp classes 3 days a week. My home was between where I worked and where I lived, and it was a 50-mile trek to each. I had no problem with this because I was determined to do whatever it took to make a better life for myself. I graduated in October of 2018, immediately started an aggressive job search and was employed as a backend software developer by January of 2019.

The biggest step I had to take from bootcamp student to professional software developer was learning how to think like a developer. Bootcamps are good for teaching a TON of syntax in a very short amount of time. Memorizing syntax is useless if you can't take that syntax and learn how to solve problems with it. I am very grateful for most of my coworkers, for they were understanding and helpful. As I learned how to solve problems, my love for my new career really started to flourish. I take pride in being able to see a new project from an exploratory phase into completion.

My quality of life has improved dramatically since becoming a software developer. I'm in the best physical shape of my life, in the gym 5 days a week, I can cook healthy meals for myself and I have extra time to do simple things like clean my apartment or go grocery shopping. In short, JavaScript literally saved my life. I come into work each day with a large amount of gratitude because I know it doesn't have to be this good.

If you are reading this and you are in that state of desperation as I once was, know that you can do it too with determination and desire to create a better life for yourself. Feel free to reach to me with any questions or if you just want to talk tech.

email: patlehmann1@gmail.com
linkedin: linkedin.com/in/patlehmann/
github: github.com/patlehmann1/
patlehmann.com

Top comments (8)

Collapse
 
fdevinar profile image
Fabrício Devinar

Good read Patrick, good luck on your evolution as a web developer!!
May I ask you, just out of curiosity, what age were you when you started the bootcamp and made the move to working in this industry?
I see this happening with people from all ages and backgrounds, it's refreshing having new blood with different backgrounds on the market.
Cheers!

Collapse
 
patlehmann1 profile image
Patrick Lehmann

Hey Fabricio, I was 30 years old when I started at bootcamp! I'm 32 now and I agree, it is good to have all types of people from different backgrounds get into tech. We need more of it. Thanks for reading!

Collapse
 
csharplove profile image
csharplove

Im in the same position I want to chance the path of my life as I’m learning myself how to code that way I can land in to the world of coding ,I’m not even think about money I know it’s important but don’t think about it I’m thinking more bout the knowledge,that way I can have time with family also do something that really I love and passionate about it ..

I’m doing an extra effort once I get off from work I stay awake and as long as I get home I turn my laptop and star reading pdf and practicing what I learn ..
Well good look in your journey & will see in couple months ...

Collapse
 
atropusdev profile image
Colton Walker

Good read homie. Never stop, just keep kicking down new doors.

Collapse
 
csharplove profile image
csharplove

So inspiring

Collapse
 
patlehmann1 profile image
Patrick Lehmann

Thank you, sir! Very true!

Collapse
 
gaelenkash profile image
Gaelen Kash

Great story, Patrick!

Collapse
 
patlehmann1 profile image
Patrick Lehmann

Thanks Gaelen! Got my first dev job thanks to networking at RVAJS Conference!