DEV Community

Cover image for Building a Simple API with AdonisJS [NodeJS]
Patrick O'Dacre
Patrick O'Dacre

Posted on • Updated on

Building a Simple API with AdonisJS [NodeJS]

Subscribe to my YouTube channel for more tutorials on working with VueJS and AdonisJS -- an MVC framework for NodeJS!

If you've never heard of AdonisJS before, you're in for a treat. Fans of Laravel will especially love this framework.


TL;DR

I've completed my first tutorial series on creating a simple API using AdonisJS -- an MVC framework for Node.

In the series I cover the following:

  • using the Adonis CLI to quickly create a project and important files
  • routing
  • database migrations
  • CRUD operations on a MySQL db via Lucid ORM and the Query Builder
  • Middleware

Throughout the course I walk you through the documentation and even some source code so you will be armed with the understanding to excel on your own.

I also provide a cheatsheet on Github with many suggestions on how you can challenge yourself to learn even more.


When I first began planning a personal project last year, I knew I wanted to use Node, but I was not looking forward to working with so many different libs to get what I needed -- Express, Knex, Nodemailer, Passport, etc.

It's not that I thought it would be especially difficult putting all those together; I know many others work with just that stack.

What I really wanted, though, was all those things in a nice neat bundle to make things less tedious.

I'm very happy I found AdonisJS.

Please have a look at the course and let me know what you think. Any and all constructive feedback is appreciated. I found the whole process very challenging, and I look forward to getting better at creating tutorials like this.

Likes and subscribes on YouTube would be great. You can also sign up for the email list on my site if you want to get notified when new tutorials are added.

Thanks!

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
sourcefli profile image
SourceFli

Hi Patrick,

I'm looking for a reference on how to implement the google sheets api with Adonis. Are able to point me in the right direction or let me know the ideal way to setup the Google Spreadsheet client, as referenced in the Google Docs here...
developers.google.com/sheets/api/q...

or if you know a better way?