DEV Community

Cover image for How do you raise funds for an open-source project?
Paul
Paul

Posted on

How do you raise funds for an open-source project?

I don't have great connections and stuff. I used to keep the FOSS projects running, by freelancing. But, I am always having to keep juggling between OSS work and freelancing which is getting very tiring and stressful.

So, I was planning to crowd-fund an upcoming open-source project, so I can keep it free.

But so far, it doesn't seem to be going great, also maybe it's not reaching the right people??

So how do you guys get funded or raise money? How and where do you find sponsors?

Top comments (17)

Collapse
 
litlyx profile image
Antonio | CEO at Litlyx.com

It is really difficult to get funded in open-source, if you are not giving extreme value to people. I suggest to develop a business plan on your open-source project, but with an edge that you keep closed-souce as a value proposition to B2B, not your B2C clients.
We are still at ZERO in funding but im with you, we are working to get funded.

Keep up the work!

Collapse
 
paul_freeman profile image
Paul • Edited

Hey thanks for replying and for your insights

but with an edge that you keep closed-source as a value proposition to B2B.

Do you mean to keep some part of the project closed source? Also, when selling to B2B I have heard they need a lot of security compliance.

Collapse
 
litlyx profile image
Antonio | CEO at Litlyx.com

Yes exactly. A part of your code should be closed... that is your edge. You need to negotiate on that with clients that are b2b.

Collapse
 
dagnelies profile image
Arnaud Dagnelies • Edited

Well, it's hard indeed. My library gets downloaded 60k/month, is used by 1600+ repositories, but there is not a single recurrent sponsor 😢 ...kind of sad. Only two guys once gifted me a coffee (thanks guys)

The sad truth is that OSS gives you chump change at best.

And guys who earn something with it are by far more the exception than the rule. Regarding the article that @fyodorio shared, I find it also interesting to look closer at what he earned:

  • 5k: Goodness of their hearts "buy me coffee" sponsors
  • 50k: Consulting, conferences, stickers
  • 200k: Advertising (see article why it's abnormally high)
  • 745k: Paid "premium" content

That's the hard reality.

What I also find interesting is the following paragraph in the article:

Relationships are everything

I used to think that most of my success was from my programming ability, marketing ability, general taste, etc... And yeah, I needed to be good at programming and talking and what not, but the thing that REALLY did it, was relationships.

I put myself out there. I went to conferences, both as a speaker and attendee. I looked people up and traveled to them in person. I talked for hours on the phone with people. Started small ventures with people. I hung out on twitter for countless hours. I chilled on Zoom for more hours.

Collapse
 
paul_freeman profile image
Paul

Yup! going forward, I am planning to build a community and also add some premium content or at least add a one-time license for enterprise users.

Collapse
 
stefanak-michal profile image
Michal Štefaňák

I have similar experience. I created backend library for php to cover bolt specification (link). Over 300 000 downloads from packagist. Even used by Adobe for CC. And zero income.

Collapse
 
fyodorio profile image
Fyodor
Collapse
 
paul_freeman profile image
Paul

Wow! this was a great read and insightful. Thanks for sharing.

Collapse
 
fyodorio profile image
Fyodor

Yes, this one is a recent one, pretty relevant. But again, take it with a grain of salt, because Caleb’s way is quite specific and community-driven. Creating such a community and personal brand may take some time.

Thread Thread
 
paul_freeman profile image
Paul

Hmm.. building the community is the hard part. Need to find time for that as well.

Collapse
 
shutsasha profile image
ShutSasha

Wow

Collapse
 
paul_freeman profile image
Paul

??

Collapse
 
fyodorio profile image
Fyodor

Wow-effect… you need wow-effect… obviously! 🙄🤣

Collapse
 
nathan_ofzion_ddc0e4fb243 profile image
Nathan Ofzion

if you won't funding you need to develop something people won't, be prepared to jump through hops and work with a community.

communityfund.stellar.org

Collapse
 
paul_freeman profile image
Paul

Would love to hear from people who have raised or got sponsorships

Collapse
 
stefanak-michal profile image
Michal Štefaňák

It is very hard. I created some open source stuff which are popular. I tried to reach out to gather some sponsors. I tried to apply for funds, grants. Still not success.

Collapse
 
paul_freeman profile image
Paul • Edited

Yes, going forward I am planning to create a separate business license, so people how can pay will have to pay.

Some comments may only be visible to logged-in visitors. Sign in to view all comments.