DEV Community

Peter Kim Frank
Peter Kim Frank

Posted on

How do you take breaks throughout the day?

I've been working from home a lot more often recently, and without the commute and normal hum of office activity and side-conversations, I've been having a hard time stepping away from the computer.

I'm confident that I'll be substantially more productive if I can break up my work in the right way, but I've been finding it difficult to build the right habits and reminders.

So, how do you break up your work throughout the day? How often do you take breaks? And what do you do during them?

Top comments (49)

Collapse
 
lkopacz profile image
Lindsey Kopacz

I use my pomidoro timer to take breaks (25 minutes work and 5 minutes break). And I actually take breaks when the buzzer goes off.

I usually do the following

  • Drink a huge drink of water as I usually forget to drink water when I am deep into coding
  • Take a stroll around the office.
  • Take a few deep breaths (mostly because I am an antsy person, this really helps me!)
Collapse
 
toastking profile image
Matt Del Signore

How do you deal with taking a break when you're deep in a problem? That was always my problem with pomodoro, I'd be deep in a problem and the timer would go off.

Collapse
 
lkopacz profile image
Lindsey Kopacz

This is tricky because it depends on the personality type. I personally have no problem getting back to it after my break is over because 5 minutes is so short. If it were longer (like 10-15 minutes) I may have a lot more trouble with it.

Sometimes I find that when I do take the break, even when I am deep in a problem, the "fresh" start actually helps and I start hitting the ground running. My intent is always to get back to it after my break, and I am pretty good at it!

It's hard to tell if this is just who I am (personality) or if it's actually my mindset.

Thread Thread
 
lkopacz profile image
Lindsey Kopacz

I will say though, even if you don't take the full break like I do...we could all benefit from taking a few breaths and remembering to drink water :D

Thread Thread
 
steelwolf180 profile image
Max Ong Zong Bao • Edited

Pomodoro technique is awesome, been using it since last year to work on my daily task.

The notifications for pomodoro apps, can help in reminding you to take a break when you have a earpiece.

Thread Thread
 
lkopacz profile image
Lindsey Kopacz

Yeah, I have one on my desktop at work!

Collapse
 
_morgan_adams_ profile image
morgana

Something that helps me here is not to divert your attention on your breaks to anything that requires concentration e.g. striking up conversations with co-workers, thumbing through emails, social media etc. Doing something like a short walk or getting some water like Lindsey suggested helps your subconscious keep working at the problem while the working memory gets a break.

Collapse
 
mariocsee profile image
Mario See

Changing up the time in pomodoro to 45 minutes of work and 15 minute breaks works for me. Adjusting it to your work style could help prevent untimely breaks when trying the conventional 25/5 split.

Thread Thread
 
lkopacz profile image
Lindsey Kopacz

Yeah I've totally heard of this too! Whatever works best for your productivity 😃

Collapse
 
priteshusadadiya profile image
Pritesh Usadadiya

same here, pomodoro has never worked for me.

Collapse
 
peter profile image
Peter Kim Frank

Thank you! I'm also going to give your Working Remotely post a fresh read later today 🙏🏽

Collapse
 
detunized profile image
Dmitry Yakimenko • Edited

Here's a tip: have some kids. I have two and breaks happen naturally, probably more often than I'd like.

But on a serious note, invent a routine where you need to go somewhere. Run some errands. For small breaks I prefer to go to the kitchen to make a tea. It takes about 10 minutes, so it's a good mini break. For a long break I do something around the house or go outside to get groceries, fix the bike or whatever.

I used to think it's really bad to break up the work day. Now I think the opposite. It's much better for me to work in two or three intervals throughout the day. I feel more productive to break up the computer stare time.

Collapse
 
boredcodeon profile image
boredandcode

Wow this totally clicked with me. I just need to change my mindset of kids being a 'distraction' to kids being a 'break'. I'm gonna try to think about it that way! :)

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor • Edited

I work in the basement so getting water/coffee means leaving the dungeon. Here's my list:

  • Weather permitting, walk around the block (I'm currently not walking the walk on this one, but the weather hasn't been the best and I just got over a torn calf).
  • Eat lunch at your kitchen table, not your desk.
  • Get up and stretch two or three times an hour.
  • One thing I've tried is the pomodoro clock, but I find sometimes I'm just in a groove that it doesn't make sense to stop.

I'd also be hypocritical if I said I do these all the time, so I'll phrase it as these are things I strive to do when working from home.

Now that my calf is healed, I'm going to see about gym sessions at lunch as well.

Collapse
 
maestromac profile image
Mac Siri

I'm using a standing desk at home. I can only stand for so long. If my body starts to get tired from standing, I'd take this opportunity to bum around relax by sitting down for a bit. So it's similar to pomodoro but instead of fixed time, i depend on my leg's fatigueness.

Collapse
 
mathur_anurag profile image
Anurag Mathur 

I split the type of tasks into (1) Reading, and (2) Coding.

For every 25 minutes of active reading, I take 5 minutes of eye break, and drink a glass of water, get up and stretch.

For every 45 minutes of coding, I take 15 minutes of break which includes a drink of water, followed by a small walk.

In both scenarios, every alternate break, I would just take a 10 minute break to calm down and breathe.

Collapse
 
iankurbiswas profile image
Ankur Biswas

I actually use 47/13 rule to take breaks throught the day. As the name suggests, I focusedly work for 47 mins and then take 13 mins of break. In breaktime I usually take walk or have coffee or try to solve someone else's problem or have a conversation with someone. I'm not yet perfected this technique, I'm still try to develope it.

Collapse
 
chrisrhymes profile image
C.S. Rhymes

I have a Fitbit which has an activity reminder if you don’t do enough steps each hour. It reminds me to stretch my legs and get some more tea or water. I try not to have too much coffee, a max of two per day.

Collapse
 
katylava profile image
katy lavallee

+1 for Fitbit. Only problem is often when the reminder comes up I tell myself "just a couple more minutes" and then forget about it :P

Collapse
 
teroyks profile image
Tero Y

My watch pings me when I have sat still for an hour. I get up and walk around for a minute or two, usually getting a glass of water.

I try to walk to have lunch as often as possible (I have a couple of places ten minutes away) to have a longer break in the middle of the day.

When in the office, I take a couple of coffee breaks (around 15 minutes) to chat with coworkers. When working from home, I often take the dog out for a short walk in the afternoon.

Collapse
 
chrisrhymes profile image
C.S. Rhymes

I initially misread this, thinking you have lunch as many times per day as possible. 😄
But I definitely agree about going for a walk at lunch time.

Collapse
 
teroyks profile image
Tero Y

Lunch as many times per day as possible does sound awesome though.

Collapse
 
hrishikesh1990 profile image
hrishikesh1990

Working from home, I lose track of time very easily with the constant silence. A timer does the trick for me. I use the 'Take A Break' chrome extension - simple yet very effective. Keeps reminding me every 15 minutes to take short breaks. These breaks are as simple as blinking my eyes, stretching my arms or staring outside the window :)

Collapse
 
simoroshka profile image
Anna Simoroshka

I am really bad at it. If I am deep in the problem, nothing works: my watch vibrates at the end of the hour, I ignore it, a timer in the browser goes off, I just close it. Water is too close and somebody already made coffee. There is nowhere to walk in the office without disturbing other people.

Collapse
 
katieadamsdev profile image
Katie Adams

Though I wish I had the luxury of working from home, alas, I do not. I'm an IT technician in a boarding school, working varying hours approximately between 7 am and 4:30.

During term-time, when things are more hectic, I get one break aside from lunch at about 10 o'clock, in which I escape to the staff room for a piece of fruit or a biscuit and a cup of tea. I think this break is really effective because I can talk to members of staff outside my department. It's nice chatting with the Psychology teachers or the PE staff about the news or weekend plans. However, if they start asking me to fix their problems whilst I'm clearly not working (as some staff members are known to do), then I'll hide away in one of the other, lesser-popular break rooms with a book (my current read is Neil Gaiman's Neverwhere, which I'm thoroughly enjoying and would recommend). These breaks are about 20 minutes.

Outside of term-time, things are luckily more relaxed. The whole team takes their break together in these instances, again in the lesser-known Housekeeping break room. Cup of tea. Biscuit. Nonsense nattering about holidays and TV from last night. These vary from 20 to 30 minutes, once at 10am and again at 3pm.

In either case, I think getting away from a screen is crucial. Real, human interaction or peaceful quiet time is equally important - simply whichever tickles your fancy more.

Collapse
 
toastking profile image
Matt Del Signore

I take regular coffee breaks, usually once every couple of hours. It's a nice short walk to the coffee machine. If I'm reaaaaally stuck on a problem I'll go out and buy a coffee and walk around a bit. That usually helps clear my mind. especially if it's a nice cold winter day.

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

As a person who is pretty new to remote work, I can totally relate to this!

I'll typically take a big break in the middle of the day and do something active paired with a small lunch (I snack pretty frequently during the day, but keep my snacks downstairs, another trick to get me up and down a few times). The physical activity keeps my stress down and it's a nice change of pace. Also, I find if I don't move my body around enough, I get really sleepy toward the end of the day. A midday workout is often what I need to get that extra jolt of energy!

Another tip that I use for myself is to keep on a schedule. I'll take my lunch/gym break some time within the window of 12-2. I leave a little flexibility there depending on how much work I have going on, but this is generally when I like to take my extended daily break.

Collapse
 
darksmile92 profile image
Robin Kretzschmar

I tried various things like pomodoro timers, screen timeout software and other techniques.

What worked for me in the end is a combination of the following:

  • get up at the same time and start working at the same time every day I work from home
  • Only have coffee on my desk. Need to walk to the kitchen for a glass of water regulary
  • Doing laundry (starting the washing maschine after getting up and setting an alarm for when it is done). => I need to put the laundry in the tumble dryer then, so this means another screen break
  • preparing my meal ~1h before I take my lunch break or if it can't pre prepared, going early for lunch and cook. No ordering food
  • Eating in the kitchen and not at my desk (this one is important)
  • Going for a cup of coffee with friends during the day (if possible to arrange with schedule)
  • Walking through the room during meetings and if it involves screensharing, I try to stand during the call and not to sit. Makes it easier to walk away for a couple of minutes right after hanging up.
Collapse
 
joshuacolvin profile image
Joshua Colvin

I take walks at times when focused work is going to be interrupted anyway. This is usually before or after morning standup, at lunch, and late afternoon when my kids get out of school.

I was listening to podcasts or audio books while walking but found that having no inputs was more beneficial. Leaving my phone at home also makes it easier to ignore slack during breaks.