DEV Community

Patryk Gronkiewicz
Patryk Gronkiewicz

Posted on

How to customize Emacs

Last time I wrote why I quit vim for Emacs. This time I’ll cover customization topic.

Prerequisties

First of all - I’m using Doom Emacs. It makes configuration way easier in my opinion, especially at the beginning of the Emacs adventure.
Second - my Doom configuration files are available here. I’ll try to update this repository more often than my dotfiles.

What am I using?

I’ve tried to recreate my vim setup as much as possible. I’ve wanted to gain some possibilities, not to change my habits. That’s why I’m using EViL mode (and I don’t want to strain my pinky). Most of my packages are language support, so nothing very interesting, but some deserve some attention.

  • ein - support for Jupyter notebooks. It saves my day with full integration’
  • org - basically org mode with lots of flags;
  • web - emmet and some other useful stuff.

There’s also mu4e which caught my eye. It’s email client for Emacs. I don’t need to load whole GMail website!
I’ve also installed some packages outside of these available by default in Doom Emacs such as:

  • conda
  • pyvenv
  • xkcd
  • org-ref.

Theme

I’m big fan of Monokai Pro, so I’ve put in my config

    (setq doom-theme 'doom-monokai-pro)
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

I also don’t like default font, so I’m using JetBrains Mono in size of 14.

    (setq doom-font (font-spec :family "JetBrainsMono Nerd Font" :size 14))
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

The best way to move with Vim keybindings in my opinion is <N><movement>. That’s why I’m using relative line numbers

    (setq display-line-numbers-type 'relative)
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

Other customization

There’s just awesome (and thicc) guide how to customize your own Emacs here by @tecosaur.

Top comments (0)