DEV Community

Tom
Tom

Posted on

How can I be a good developer?

I am a beginner programmer hoping to be a good programmer. I used to like the game when I was a child, and I have hoped I could develop a great game which can give happiness to the players even though I am not playing the game these days since I became very busy because of other work.
For over 1 year, I couldn't find the right way to start my study about the game development, but I've known that the good people are there in DEV since last week. I respect all of the developers in DEV because you are helping each other without any limitation but your true heart.
And now, I want to get help from you to be a good programmer just like you. Could you help me telling me a right way how can I study which materials to be a good game developer?
Thanks for reading my poor writing.
I wish you good luck in your business.

Top comments (7)

Collapse
 
dshaw0004 profile image
Dipankar Shaw

Start from basic
Watch some tutorial or read some articles then implement what you learn. If you have any problem implementing that then watch the video or read the article again and find out what are you doing wrong.

Collapse
 
pheonix profile image
Tom • Edited

Thank you, Dipankar.
Can I ask a question, please?
I have a little experience in C/C++, Python, and web development.
I want to be a game developer, and game development is also my dream.
But the problem is I have no experience in game development.
My parents are against the development of computer games.
However, I definitely want to become a great game developer.
It's a shameless thing, but is there any company that can make me a great game developer with giving me some money as I need a little money a month without my parents know it.
I have enthusiasm and great learning ability.
Can you help me, please?

Collapse
 
dshaw0004 profile image
Dipankar Shaw

That's called Internship.
You have to search for that online.
Before that you have improve your skills in C++ or Python. I recommend you to learn C++ and C# because one of the most famous game engine UNITY uses it.

For internships keep your eyes on online job listing sites like LinkedIn, Indeed etc.

Collapse
 
khangnd profile image
Khang • Edited

I'm not a game developer by profession nor I have any experience developing complex games, but I do share an interest in making games and wish to be able to make one that I would be proud to speak of eventually.

What I can say is, if you truly wish it, pursuit it by all means. Unity is a good start if you don't mind learning C#, as it appears to be super popular to professionals and easy to learn. HTML5 Canvas is another good option if you already have some background in web dev. Learn the most basic of the basics, by watching video tutorials or reading books, but most importantly, apply what you understand by building an actual game. If you have trouble learning by yourself, join every game development community you could find, speak up, ask away, or find someone who may be willing to teach or mentor you, you'll get there.

And if you struggle with financial support, I would advise taking another daytime job that may not be related to game development to secure a financial measure for yourself while learning game development in your free time. It will definitely be hard, but the reward is fulfilling.

Ultimately, the decision lies upon yourself and your dedication.

Collapse
 
pheonix profile image
Tom

You are a kind person. :).
But Khang, if you are interesting about making game and want a good game which would be proud to speak of eventually, let's make that one! Let's do that so that the game can be world widely played and used and world's first game players want to do.

Collapse
 
godot profile image
Godot

I'd say there's three ways to approach it:

  • Using game engine
  • Using game framework/libraries
  • Make your own tools

Since you say you want to focus on making game/game creation itself (instead of the intricacies behind the game development), you can dismiss the last two options.

I recommend you research those game engines, there are tons of them (Unity, Unreal, GameMaker, Godot, Defold). If you ask me, then I'd answer Godot 😜 as it is my hobby. So go pick one, and start from the basic, and work your way up. Watching tutorials, reading the manuals, then go make your own simplest game.

It's hard, it's long, and tedious. So pace yourself, it's a slow ride with bumpy roads. Good luck!

Collapse
 
pheonix profile image
Tom • Edited

Can you help me more detail by chatting with me skype channel? Please give me your user name of skype.