DEV Community

Cover image for Working Camp Inquiry - Glam Up my Markup
programORdie
programORdie

Posted on

Working Camp Inquiry - Glam Up my Markup

This is a submission for DEV Challenge v24.03.20, Glam Up My Markup: Camp Activities

What I Built

I built a glass UI for the Glam Up my Markup frontend challenge.

I used a very futuristic theme to move away from the traditional camp theme that has already been used by so many other websites.

It's a resizable site, which makes it usable for both desktop and mobile users.

Demo

A better preview of the site is available here
All the source code is available on Github.

Journey

I started with just styling the form, but I realized that was pretty normal.
That's why I decided to add a database feature, what made me knock with my head on my desk.

I learned tons of new javascript skills by making my own pie charts, because animating on the canvas isn't simple.

After that, I made some cool confetti and popup scripts to make it look better and spendt 2 hours on animating (yes, 2 hours, don't laugh).

Credits

That's all, I hope you like it!

Top comments (3)

Collapse
 
sarahokolo profile image
sahra πŸ’« • Edited

Looks really greatβœ¨πŸ‘. Awesome work you put into thisπŸ’―πŸ˜. However, I don't think you would want a "not allowed" cursor for the submit button, it shows the user that the form is not submittable, which isn't right. The error message should be enough. Again splendid workπŸ‘

Collapse
 
programordie profile image
programORdie

Thank you! It does submit, and as soon as you select an activity, the cursor changes back to normal.

Collapse
 
programordie profile image
programORdie

Let me know what you think about this!