DEV Community

Jeff Lindsay
Jeff Lindsay

Posted on

If you could control anything in your life with code...

As a programmer, if you could control anything in your life you can't already with code, what would it be?

Top comments (8)

Collapse
 
ecemac profile image
Ece • Edited

I would build a software which has the data of every decision I made in my life and their consequences, so that when I face with a decision the sofware would tell me what to do to get the best outcome, based on the previous events. I do not like making decisions.

Collapse
 
kspeakman profile image
Kasey Speakman • Edited

Coincidentally, I thought of writing the same machine learning code, but just for the game of chess. Turns out to require a multi-million dollar data center to calculate and store results, just for all chess moves. Humans have this capability built in to our minds already, but unfortunately it first takes a lifetime of experience to make it accurate. :)

Collapse
 
skrish2017 profile image
Shashi

A probability algorithm that tells me what to do to avoid my 2 yo falling sick. 😊 Not that she is sick a lot but would like some insight. Lol.

Collapse
 
scottishross profile image
Ross Henderson

Reminders of everything I need to do that don't have an ignore, but stop when the task is completed.

Collapse
 
andyrosenberg profile image
AndyRosenberg

Will saying X make my spouse/friend/colleague mad? What should I say instead?

Collapse
 
devhead profile image
dev-head

death and taxes.

Collapse
 
valentinpearce profile image
Valentin Pearce

Probably a sorting algorithm. I'm terrible at keeping my stuff organised.

Collapse
 
djdany01 profile image
Dani J. Pérez • Edited

Just a search algorithm, no more things lost 🤣