DEV Community

Cover image for What is your favorite easy meal to cook when you are working a long day?
Rachel Fazio
Rachel Fazio

Posted on

What is your favorite easy meal to cook when you are working a long day?

Hey y'all! I recently saw a post by one of my team members...

...on our CodeNewbie Team page and it drew up so many feelings and associations to food and work.

Recently, one of my favorite things to listen to during my days of making content for y'all over here at CodeNewbie Team is cooking podcasts. I found this show by Samin Nosrat (creator of Salt, Fat, Acid Heat!) and Hrishikesh Hirway called Home Cooking that got me thinking... I should really try to make a meal using all of the ingredients in my cabinet to have something cook something while I work (ideally in my crock pot), so that I don't have to focus on it while I work, can be super nourished once I finish work, and don't have to think about purchasing a meal for the day. (Note: I definitely do this every once and a while, but I forgot it was even an option as my crock pot is stashed away in a cabinet right now!)

So, this was my 15 minute mission at the end of my lunch break today— I decided to throw a bunch of veggies in the crock pot, add some things to make a pseudo pozole veggie soup, and called it an afternoon (will update to see how it goes!).


All said, I realize I am not alone in this quest to find easy meals while I am working that make me excited to eat, but aren't too stressful or mess-making to cook.

So, help me out— what do you find yourself cooking, craving, or ordering when you have a long workday and you can't be bothered?

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
charlottekellogg944 profile image
charlottekellogg944

When I'm faced with a long day of work and still want a delicious and convenient meal, I often turn to Instant Pot chicken recipes. The Instant Pot's efficiency and versatility make it a go-to kitchen tool for me. Whether it's a savory chicken stew, flavorful shredded chicken for tacos, or a comforting chicken and rice dish, I find that instapot chicken recipes offer the perfect balance between convenience and taste. It's a great way to have a satisfying meal without spending too much time in the kitchen after a tiring day.