DEV Community

Pavol Rajzak
Pavol Rajzak

Posted on

Coding on iPad

Well, this is what I’ve been thinking about ever since I bought one. In general they are devices for consuming, not producing content. But since new Apple MacBooks are switching to ARM (same CPU architecture as iPads) we could see more development tools being also available for tablets.

I have seen some people using it for Python and also some applications for learning programming, but would like to know whether it could be used also for JavaScript or even JVM stuff :).

Does anyone have any experience? Would like to read about it in comments.

Top comments (5)

Collapse
 
brandonvilla21 profile image
Brandon Villa

You can setup a server in Digital Ocean and access remotely from your IPad using some app that works as a terminal for your device.
That way you can basically install any software that you server supports: node, npm, git, VIM, etc.

Collapse
 
rapasoft profile image
Pavol Rajzak

Yes, I have that already (e.g. cloud VM instance with some tools), but that's basically about connecting to it via terminal. I would like to have more "native" experience, e.g. some editor that would either use that directly and it will just use the online tools.

Collapse
 
brandonvilla21 profile image
Brandon Villa

I have tried some apps like Play.js and seems to work well for basic projects but for real/big projects I don't think there are apps for the iPad that can really compete with a Mac :( or not that I'm aware

Collapse
 
j3ffjessie profile image
J3ffJessie

There are a few apps that you can use. I use working copy to edit most of my code stuff. It allows awesome previews for markdown and HTML level projects. Code Editor is fairly good with others. Play.JS is one that can work with most JavaScript projects. I have had difficulty in setting that one up. If you are able to do internet on it consistently you can use one of the online platforms as well to do your coding.

Collapse
 
rapasoft profile image
Pavol Rajzak

Working copy looks good, but it seems to me that it is more of a secondary tool, when you need to fix things on the go and not for some "serious development". But anyway, thanks for the tip!