DEV Community

Cover image for Windows Vs Linux - The Numbers
Ryan Bevin
Ryan Bevin

Posted on

Windows Vs Linux - The Numbers

Introduction

Hello!

A while ago I conducted some tests between Windows and Linux (Pop_OS! in this instance). The tests conducted were the following:

  • Wake up from sleep.
  • Geek bench scores.
  • A range of gaming benchmarks.
  • AND a simple software/programming test.

These tests were conducted on the exact same hardware, the system I used had a dual boot setup to remove as many external factors as possible.

Obviously I want to talk about the software test (hence the bold).

The "problem"

Generally the reason to switch to Linux that is mentioned consistently is because

  1. It's free
  2. It's easier to get software tools setup
  3. Security
  4. Customization
  5. Community support
  6. Reliability

This list is not exhaustive but these are the common reasons I see listed why someone should switch from Linux to windows. And I'm not here to say why you should or shouldn't switch.

I'm here to show you numbers and let you make up your own mind. I intend to do this with an overlooked reason why programmers/developers/engineers switch to using Linux.

SPEED!
SPEED!

The Results

Again, this is a simple example but it correlates to my experience in general. Using the following 10 languages:

  1. Rust
  2. Typescript
  3. Python
  4. Java
  5. Bash
  6. C++
  7. C
  8. R
  9. JavaScript (Firefox)
  10. Go

The test was to get each of these results to print the string "Bye\n" 1,000,000 times. As I say simple, but the results were interesting. I'm not going to add anymore, I will let the results speak for themselves and you may draw from them what you wish.

I also encourage discourse below to share experiences and or concerns with this method to test.

Thanks for reading!

Results

Top comments (4)

Collapse
 
mannu profile image
Mannu

Result speaks everything 💀

Collapse
 
rbevin777 profile image
Ryan Bevin

Not sure if this is a good comment or a bad comment 😬

Collapse
 
mannu profile image
Mannu

I meant results are preety decent 😃💀

Thread Thread
 
rbevin777 profile image
Ryan Bevin

😁